India Section S.K. Rangarajan Graduate Student Award

The S.K. Rangarajan Graduate Student Award was established in 2017 to assist a deserving student in India to pursue a career in disciplines related to electrochemistry and solid state science and technology.

Nomination Deadline: Nominations are not being accepted at this time
Presented: Winter Section meeting, annual

Recipient Qualifications

Qualified candidates must be full or part-time graduate students in good standing at a university or college in India. Candidates must be no more than 30 years old and involved in thesis research or other academic activities that involve a demonstration or application of electrochemistry and/or solid state science and technology. The recipient will have demonstrated academic excellence, an interest in the study or application these sciences, and personal characteristics that reflect S.K. Rangarajan’s integrity and spirit.

Nomination Submissions

Potential recipients may be nominated by anyone familiar with their qualifications.

The complete nomination package will include:

  • Completed electronic nomination form
  • transcripts of all post-secondary school academic work;
  • short descriptions of his or her research activities and non-research interests;
  • letter of recommendation from applicant’s a university/college advisor;
  • resume or curriculum vitae.

The award consists of a scroll, a US $500 prize, and a complimentary one-year ECS membership. The recipient may be invited to speak about his or her work or on another topic of interest to the field of electrochemistry at the Section meeting where the award will be presented.

About S.K. Rangarajan

Sarukkai Krishnamachari Rangarajan (SKR) was an exceptional scientist whose diverse research investigations ranged from functional analysis and stochastic modelling to ion transport across membranes and bipolar cells. His electrochemistry career spanned from 1955 until his death in 2008 with work at Alagappa Chettiar College of Engineering and Technology, the Central Electro Chemical Research Institute (CECRI) and National Aerospace Laboratory in Bangalore. His many honors include Fellow of the Indian Academy of the Sciences, the Indian National Science Academy and the Third World Academy of Sciences. He also received the Alumni Award of the Indian Institute of Science and the lifetime achievement award of the Chemical Research Society of India.


Farjana J. Sonia
Anantharaj S