Michael Thackeray

Michael ThackerayNotable for his identification of a new cathodes, Michael Thackeray helped lead to significant advances in lithium-polymer technology. Thackeray has focused his career on unraveling structure-electrochemical relationships in solid electrodes and electrolytes for battery systems and in designing new or improved materials.

He was manager of the Battery Unit at the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), South Africa before moving to Argonne in 1994. He was Director of the Department of Energy’s (DOE’s) Energy Frontier Research Center (EFRC), the Center for Electrical Energy Storage (CEES) from 2009 to 2014, and is currently Deputy Director of the renewed EFRC, the Center for Electrical Energy Science (CEES-II).

Thackeray is now an Argonne Distinguished Fellow and senior scientist in the Chemical Sciences and Engineering Division at Argonne National Laboratory.

He has published more than 200 research papers and is an inventor on 51 patents, several of which have been licensed on an international scale.

As a member of The Electrochemical Society, Thackeray is a Board member of the International Battery Association, serving as its President between 1999 and 2002. He has been a member of the Battery Division of The Electrochemical Society since 1994 and has served on several committees of the Society.