Jose Zagal

Jose ZagalJose Zagal was awarded the Presidential Chair in Science in 1996 in Chile by a committee chaired by Nobel Laureate Rudolph Marcus. He was appointed member of the Superior Council of Sciences by the President of Chile for the period 2011-2013. He has recently been elected Fellow of the International Society of Electrochemistry.

He has contributed in many areas of electrochemistry including modified electrodes, conductive polymers, sensors and corrosion but he is particularly known for establishing reactivity guidelines for the design of efficient non-precious metal catalysts for the promotion of many electrochemical reactions including the reduction of O2. More recently he has become involved in the development of hybrid micro-electrodes using carbon nanotubes and conductive polymers for the detection of molecules of biological interest.

Since joining The Electrochemical Society in 1977, Zagal has helped to create the Chile Section of ECS and became its first Chair in 2011. He has delivered more than 50 papers at ECS meetings.

He has authored over 190 publications, 6 book chapters, co-authored two books and created 3 patents.