ECS President Congratulates 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry Winners

Christina Bock, president of the Board of The Electrochemical Society (ECS), congratulated John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino who today were jointly awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

“On behalf of the entire ECS community, I would like to extend my sincerest congratulations to our esteemed members: John Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino on being awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry ‘for the development of Lithium-ion batteries,’” said Bock. “This is fitting recognition for the truly groundbreaking advancements these pioneers have made for our field and for the whole of humanity. Simply put, their research is the enabling science upon which the solutions to the grand challenges facing the planet—renewable energy, clean transportation, communications to name but a few—will be based. We are honored to count their almost 60 years of combined membership among our ranks.”

John B. Goodenough, PhD, the University of Texas at Austin; M. Stanley Whittingham, PhD, Binghamton University; and Akira Yoshino, PhD, Asahi Kasei Corporation and Meijo University, are longtime Society members. Many of their seminal papers in the development of Li-ion batteries were published in the Journal of The Electrochemical Society (JES). Goodenough and Whittingham are ECS Fellows.

The 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry recognizes the three scientists’ seminal contributions in the development of the Lithium-ion battery. This strong, lightweight, and rechargeable battery stores significant energy from solar and wind sources and powers everything from mobile phones to laptops and electric vehicles. Whittingham will address the 236th ECS Meeting in Atlanta, GA, USA on “Prelude to a Revolution in Solid State Electrochemistry” on Wednesday, 16 October, 2019.

About ECS

 Leading the world in electrochemistry and solid state science and technology for over 100 years, The Electrochemical Society was founded in 1902 as an international nonprofit, educational organization. ECS now has more than 8,000 individual and institutional members in more than 75 countries. Goodenough, Whittingham, and Yoshino join the distinguished ranks of ECS members who have been awarded the Nobel Prize. Home of the Journal of The Electrochemical Society, the oldest peer-reviewed journal in its field, the ECS Digital Library provides searchable online access to the collection of ECS technical journals and other publications. Find out about how ECS is taking its digital library open access through the Free the Science initiative.

Media contact

Shannon Reed
Director of Community Engagement
609.737.1902 ext. x107