DS&T Division Thomas D. Callinan Award

The Dielectric Science and Technology Division Thomas D. Callinan Award was established in 1967 to encourage excellence in dielectric investigations, to encourage the preparation of high-quality science and technology papers and patents, to encourage publication in the Journal of The Electrochemical Society, and to recognize outstanding contributions to the field of dielectric science and technology. For the purpose of this award, dielectric science and technology is defined as that area of knowledge which deals with the physics and chemistry of dielectric materials, as well as the mechanisms and operation of devices in which electrical energy can be stored or insulated in electrical or electronic equipment.

Nomination Period: March 15 – June 15, annually
Presented: Spring meeting, annually

Recipient qualifications

The recipient will have made outstanding achievement in dielectric science and technology. The award will be given to the author(s) of a paper(s), or patent(s), reporting new advances in dielectrics. The importance and significance of the achievement or contribution will be judged on the basis of the paper(s), or patent(s), in which it is reported. In order to be considered, the written material must show excellence of a high order in science and technology. It is recommended that eligible paper(s), or patent(s) appear in the open literature during the five year period prior to June 1 of the award year.

Unsuccessful nominations will be considered for one additional year.


The award consists of a scroll and a US $1,500 prize. The recipient will be asked to present a lecture to the Dielectric Science and Technology Division at the Society meeting where the award is presented. If required, the recipient will receive financial assistance to facilitate meeting attendance.

About Thomas D. Callinan

Thomas D. Callinan was an active ECS Member for many years and a formative member of the DS&T Division. From his own successful career in dielectrics, he recognized the need to orient the activities of the DS&T Division toward the broader aspects of dielectrics and, with this in mind, personally stimulated the interest and participation of many researchers within it.


Chennupati Jagadish

Stefan De Gendt
Sean King
Hiroshi Iwai
Kalpathy Sundaram
Durgamadhab (Durga) Misra
Tsu-Jae King Liu
Not awarded
Paul A. Kohl
Stephen J. Fonash
Sanjay K. Banerjee
Akos G. Revesz
M. Jamal Deen
P. Ho
Krishna Saraswat
Ajeet Rohatghi

Rajendra Singh
John P. Dismukes
William D. Brown
Kashmiri L. Mittal
Y.-H. (Russ) Wong
Dennis W. Hess
Stanley I. Raider
Vikram J. Kapoor
M. H. Woods
Roland A. Levy
Robert B. Comizzoli
Eugene A. Irene
Shyam P. Murarka
A. C. Adams

A. K. Sinha
Lawrence Young
Bruce E. Deal
Rudolph J. Kriegler
R. Williams
J. R. Ligenza
Thomas W. Hickmott
Carlton M. Osburn
J. R. Szedon
Werner Kern
Carver A. Mead
G. M. Sessler
J. E. West
J. A. Davies
J. P. S. Pringle