Canada Section Electrochemical Award

The Canada Section Electrochemical Award was established in 1981 to recognize significant contributions to the advancement of electrochemistry in Canada.

Nomination Deadline: December 31 of year preceding year of award, odd year
Presented: Every four years, even year

Recipient qualifications

The recipient will have made contributions while working in Canada, but need not be a Canadian citizen. Candidates may be nominated from industry, government or universities, and must fulfill one or more of the following criteria:

  1. the candidate has developed an industrial electrochemical process of recognized commercial importance
  2. the candidate has made a significant contribution to fundamental electrochemical science
  3. the candidate has had a distinguished career as an educator in the field of electrochemistry and/or have organized and developed technical training courses in electrochemistry
  4. the candidate has promoted or stimulated applied electrochemical research and development
Nomination submissions

The nomination package will include:


The award consists of a gold medal.


David P. Wilkinson, The University of British Columbia, (2022)
Ashok Vijh, Université du Québec, (2018)
Not Awarded (2014)
David Shoesmith, University of Western Ontario, (2010)
J. R. Dahn, Dalhousie University, (2006)
J. Lessard, Université de Sherbrooke, (2002)
J. Lipkowski, University of Guelph, (1998)
S. Flengas, University of Toronto, (1994)
L. Young, University of British Columbia, (1990)
B. E. Conway, University of Ottawa, (1986)
E. J. Casey, Defense Research Establishment Ottawa, (1982)