IE&EE Division H. H. Dow Memorial Student Achievement Award

The Industrial Electrochemistry and Electrochemical Engineering Division H. H. Dow Memorial Student Achievement Award was established in 1990 to recognize promising young engineers and scientists in the field of electrochemical engineering and applied electrochemistry. This award was made possible by a gift from the Dow Chemical Company Foundation and is intended to encourage the recipient to continue their career in electrochemical engineering or applied electrochemistry.

Nomination Deadline: September 1, annual
Presented: Spring meeting, annual

Recipient qualifications

The recipient must be enrolled in a college or university as a graduate student or have been accepted for enrollment. The recipient will have expressed or demonstrated interest in electrochemical engineering or applied electrochemistry through research.

Nomination Submissions

The complete nomination package will include:

  • Completed electronic nomination form;
  • letter of recommendation from the applicant’s research supervisor;
  • transcripts of all post-secondary school academic work;
  • a description of the research project to be engaged in during the next year;
  • a statement which describes the relationship of the project to the field of electrochemical engineering or applied electrochemistry;
  • a biography, resume or curriculum vitae.

The description and statement should be no longer than two double-spaced typewritten pages each. 


The award consists of a scroll and a US $1,000 prize to be used for expenses associated with the recipient’s education or research project: tuition, books, equipment, or supplies.

About H.H. Dow

Herbert Henry Dow was a chemical industrialist, prolific inventor and tenacious businessman. Among other things, he developed electrolytic processes for the production of bromides, bromine, chlorine and caustic soda, bleach, and magnesium metal. His most significant achievement was founding the Dow Chemical Company in 1897.


Bairav Sabarish Vishnugopi (2023)

Arghya Patra
Akshay Subramaniam
Zhongyang Wang
Pongsarun Satjaritanun
Soo Kim
Muhammad Boota
Santosh Vijapu
Matthew Ward Brodt
Young Woo-Lee
Meng Li
Long Cai
Brandon Bartling
Prabeer Barpanda
Sunil Kumar Roy
B. L. Garcia-Diaz
N. Jalani
V. Ramani
V. Basker

J. Zhang
W. He
A. L. Prieto
K. Jeerage
S. Sriramulu
P. Seo
S. Leith
A. E. Thomas
M. Vreeke
S. Siu
J. A. Poirier
G. J. Yusem
R. Bakshi