Electrodeposition Division Early Career Investigator Award

The Electrodeposition Division Early Career Investigator Award was established in 2015 to recognize an outstanding early career researcher in the field of electrochemical deposition science and technology. Early recognition of highly qualified scientists is intended to enhance his/her stature and encourage especially promising researchers to remain active in the field.


Nomination Deadline: April 1, annual
Presented: Fall meeting, annual

Recipient qualifications

The award will be assigned for outstanding research accomplishments and is open to early career investigators within 7 years after their earning of the PhD degree, as of June 1st of the nominating year. An unsuccessful nomination will automatically remain active for the following two years only until eligibility (i.e. the candidate being within seven years after earning the PhD) still holds. If the candidate applies exactly seven years after receiving the PhD, there will be no repeat consideration.

Nomination submissions

Nominations may be made by any individual closely familiar with the nominee’s research work.

The complete nomination package will include:

  • Completed electronic nomination form
  • Nomination Letter
  • A summary of the nominee’s research activities and accomplishments outlining, in 2 to 3 (double spaced) pages, the most important aspects of her/his work and the resulting contributions to electrochemical deposition science and technology. The importance of the nominee’s achievements should be assessed independently from the research conducted in the mentor(s) group.
  • A list of the nominee’s memberships and description of involvement with scientific societies; awards received; and other related items.
  • A summary list of the candidate’s publications and reports, and electronic copies of 5 most representative publications (including preprints if applicable).
  • Any other pertinent information that might assist the members of the Awards Committee in evaluating the candidate.

The award consists of a scroll, a US $1,000 prize and complimentary meeting registration. The recipient is expected to present a lecture on her or his research work at one of the Electrodeposition Division symposia at the designate meeting when the award is presented.


Fudong Han
Jingxu Zheng
Trevor Braun
Myung Jun Kim
Jon Ustarroz
Jiahua Zhu
Yihua Liu