244th ECS Meeting Best Poster and Presentation Award Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of 244th ECS Meeting symposia-funded best-presentation awards!

Thanks to our individual symposium sponsors’ generous funding, best poster and presentation awards are presented at every meeting. Please take a moment to celebrate the excellent work of the following authors!

Symposia award winners

A01—New Approaches and Advances in Electrochemical Energy Systems
Best Poster Award Winners
Thank you to Sandia National Laboratories for their generous sponsorship of this symposium.

Characterisation of the Li Metal|Electrolyte Interface of PEO-Based SPEs with Borate Salts, Using in Situ Li Deposition PES Measurements Aided by AIMD Simulations
Edvin Andersson, Uppsala universitet

Energy Harvesting from CO2 Emission Exploiting an Ionic-Liquid Based Electrochemical Capacitor
Simone Martellone, Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia

Development of Bipolar All-Solid-State Lithium-Ion Cell
Yolande Murat, CEA Nouvelle Aquitaine

A05—Electrochemical Interfaces in Energy Storage: Theory Meets Experiment
Thank you Elsevier LTD and American Physical Society – Physical Review Journals for their generous sponsorship of this symposium.

Investigating the Impact of Ethylene Carbonate Reaction Pathways on the Solid Electrolyte Interphase in Li-Ion Batteries
Robin Lundstrom, Uppsala universitet

Solvation Effects in Electrochemical Double Layers and Static Simulations
Constantin Schwetlick, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V.

A07—Interplay between Temperature and Battery Phenomenon
Thank you to the Office of Naval Research for their generous sponsorship of this symposium.

Cyclic Aging Study of Commercial Li-Ion Batteries Focusing on Temperature
Lisa Cloos, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Investigating Low Temperature Reaction Mechanisms of Alloy Anodes for Lithium-Ion Batteries
Kelsey Anne Cavallaro, Georgia Institute of Technology

Evaluating the Safety Limits of Soft Shorting in Li-Ion Batteries
Bret Schumacher, Columbia University

H02—Semiconductor Wafer Bonding: Science, Technology, and Applications 17
Thank you to Partow Technolgies LLC, EV Group, PVA TePla Analytical Systems GmbH, SCREEN Holdings Co., Ltd. for their generous sponsorship of this symposium.

Vacuum Quality Impact on Covalent Bonding
Karine Abadie, Université Grenoble Alpes and CEA-Leti, Grenoble, France

Preferred Grain Orientation to Enhance Interdiffusion at Room Temperature in Atomic Diffusion Bonding: A Fundamental Study Using Ni and Cu Films
Miyuki Uomoto, Frontier Research Institute for Interdisciplinary Sciences, Tohoku University

Polymer to Silicon Direct Bonding for Microelectronics
Margaux Dautriat, CEA

Blade Test in Atmospheric-Pressure Ar Gas to Characterize Bonded Interface Fabricated Using Atomic Diffusion Bonding
Hikaru Iemura, Frontier Research Institute for Interdisciplinary Sciences, Tohoku University

H03—Low-Dimensional Nanoscale Electronic and Photonic Devices 16

Emerging Effect of Vertical-Oriented WSe2 Interfacial Layers in the CIGSe Thin Film Solar Cells
Chia-Chen Chung, National Tsing Hua University

Layer-Number Engineered Momentum-Indirect Interlayer Excitons with Large Spectral Tunability
Wendian Yao, Huazhong University of Science and Technology

Photocatalysis of TiO2 Nanosheets Prepared by the Cellulose Nanofiber Template
Yu-Ching Chen, National Tsing Hua University

I01—Polymer Electrolyte Fuel Cells and Electrolyzers 23 (PEFC&E23)
Thank you to the Office of Naval Research for their generous sponsorship of this symposium.

Liquid Water Permeability in a Hydrophobic Microporous Layer for the Anode Interdigitated Flow Field of a Gas-Liquid Separating Polymer Electrolyte Membrane Water Electrolyzer
Shunji Kubota, Kyushu University

Enhancement of ORR Activity of Pt Catalyst for PEFCs By Modification with Hydrogen-Bonded Organic Framework Composed of Melamine and Cyanuric Acid
Taise Miyata, Doshisha University

Synthesis of Spherical Mesoporous Carbon (SMPC) Support and Electrochemical Properties of Pt/SMPC Catalyst
Sorataka Yoshikawa, Doshisha University

Ta2O5 Catalyst Support for Polymer Electrolyte Fuel Cells
Kojiro Sanami, Department of Hydrogen Energy Systems, Kyushu University

Probing the Catalyst-Ionomer Interface in Catalyst Layers with Sulfo-Phenylated Polyphenylene Ionomers Using CO-Displacement and Stripping Techniques
Robert James Anton, University of California, Irvine

Durable Polybenzimidazole Anion Exchange Membranes for Alkaline Water Electrolyzers
Oskar Boström, Lunds universitet

I06—Crosscutting Materials Innovation for Transformational Chemical and Electrochemical Energy Conversion Technologies 5
Thank you to ACS Applied Energy Materials for their generous sponsorship of this symposium.

Energy Harvesting from Carbon Dioxide Capture through an Ionic Liquid Based Supercapacitor
Davide Molino, Politecnico di Torino

Thank you to these companies and all our other symposium sponsors for their support of the 244th ECS Meeting! Be sure to also check the Student Poster Session Award Winners.

Symposium sponsorship

Is your institution interested in sponsoring a symposium at the 245th ECS Meeting in San Francisco, CA, from May 26-May 30, 2024? Contact Anna Olsen via email at anna.olsen@electrochem.org to learn how your support can directly assist our meeting speakers with travel grants, registration waivers, best presentation awards, and more!


All content provided in the ECS blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.