Corrosion Division Morris Cohen Graduate Student Award

Nomination Period: October 15 – January 15, annually
Presented: ECS fall meeting, annually

The ECS Corrosion Division Morris Cohen Graduate Student Award was established in 1991 to recognize and reward outstanding graduate research in the field of corrosion science and/or engineering.

Eligibility criteria

Recipients are graduate students who have successfully completed their degrees, as testified to by the student’s advisor, within a period of two years prior to the nomination submission deadline.

Nomination guidelines

A complete nomination package includes:

  • Electronic nomination form;
  • Nomination letter;
  • A summary of the nominee’s Masters or PhD research work outlining (2 to 3 double-spaced pages) the most important aspects of the work and the resultant contributions to corrosion science and technology. The candidate’s promise as a future corrosion scientist and/or engineer should be considered in light of the student’s contribution to the research program as distinct from those of the professor;
  • The date on which all requirements for the degree were completed;
  • A list of the nominee’s publications, reports, memberships and involvement with scientific societies, awards received, etc.;
  • Copy of the candidate’s academic record, and reprints or preprints of publications;
  • Any other pertinent information which might assist the members of the Awards Committee in assessing the candidate.

Unsuccessful nominations will be carried for one additional award cycle if eligibility remains.

ECS Corrosion Division Morris Cohen Graduate Student Award Committee members may not submit nominations or letters of support during their terms of service.


The award consists of:

  • Framed certificate;
  • USD $1,000;
  • Up to USD $1,000 may be available for travel expenses to attend the designated ECS meeting.
Recipient obligations

The recipient presents a lecture on their research at a designated ECS Corrosion Division symposium during the ECS fall meeting where the award is presented.

About Morris Cohen

Dr. Morris Cohen was a renowned expert in the field of electrochemistry and corrosion science. He received the first Outstanding Achievement Award of the Corrosion Division in 1973. Other important honors Dr. Cohen received include the 1983 Olin Palladium Medal and 1960 NACE Willis Rodney Whitney Award of NACE. During a distinguished career at the National Research Council of Canada that spanned nearly 40 years, he authored more than 100 scientific papers and advised 24 Postdoctoral Fellows who distinguished themselves in research. Dr. Cohen was active in The Electrochemical Society as a Divisional Editor, organizer of the 1962 Second International Symposium on Passivity in Toronto, and other events.



For more information or questions, contact

Review the Society’s robust Honors & Awards and Fellowships & Grants Programs.


Mariko Kadowaki
Thalia Standish
Chao Liu
Aria Kahyarian
Rebecca Schaller
Mohsen Esmaily
Saman Hosseinpour
Eric Schindelholz
Yolanda Hedberg
Quentin Van Overmeere

Mariano Kappes
Hongbo Cong
Pouria Ghods
Mariano Iannuzzi
Christopher D. Taylor
M. Johnson
H. Tsuchiya
D. Chidambaram
Q. Meng
T. Ramgopal
K. Cooper

S. Nitodas
S. Yu
M. L. Verhoff
C. S. Brossia
D. G. Kolman
I. Odnevall
B. V. Cockeram
J. F. Yan
R. G. Buchheit
M. A. Harper