225th ECS Meeting

Orlando, Florida, May 11-15, 2015, Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek

Meeting Program

Read Program

The ECS Lecture

Charles M. Lieber
Nanowires: From Nanocomputing to Nano-Bioelectronics


See award winners

ECS Transactions


Call for Papers

View Call for Papers

Technical Program

Read Program

Meeting Highlights

Over 1,700 people attended the 225th ECS Meeting in Orlando, FL. This was ECS’s first return visit to Orlando since 2003. Participants could choose among 1,672 presentations in 59 symposia.

President Tetsuya Osaka opens the 225th ECS MeetingPlenary Session

ECS President Tetsuya Osaka opened the meeting by highlighting one of our most exciting initiatives – Author Choice Open Access for all four of our peer reviewed journals. Enabling Open Access to scientific research is imperative for ECS because it is our mission to disseminate the best research in our technical fields as widely as possible. We published our first Open Access article in March. As of today, 128 authors have chosen open access and ECS has published 45 papers to the ECS Digital Library.

Award Highlights

Dennis Hess was awarded the Henry B. Linford Award for Distinguished Teaching. Professor Hess served ECS as Divisional Editor for the Journal of The Electrochemical Society, served as ECS President, and as Editor for Electrochemical and Solid-State Letters. Currently, he is Editor of theECS Journal of Solid State Science and Technology and ECS Solid State Letters.

The Vittorio de Nora Award was presented to Chad Mirkin. Professor Mirkin is a chemist and a nanoscience expert, who has authored over 550 manuscripts and holds over 900 patents worldwide. Professor Mirkin has won over 80 national and international awards, and is a Member of the President’s Council of Advisors on Science & Technology.

Krishnan Rajeshwar (“Raj”) was recognized for his exceptional leadership in pioneering the ECS magazine Interface as editor from 1999 to 2013.

Professor Charles M. Lieber gives ECS LectureThe ECS Lecture

Nanowires: From Nanocomputing to Nano-Bioelectronics was the title of the The ECS Lecture given by Professor Charles M. Lieber. He highlighted the power of semiconductor nanowires as a platform material for exploring new science and technology. Professor Lieber emphasized the prospects for blurring the distinction between nanoelectronic circuitry, computation and living systems in the future.


5K Energy Run-For-Fun winners5K Energy Run-For-Fun

For the first time at an ECS Meeting attendees had the chance to take part in a 5K run around the hotel grounds. Fifty people accepted the challenge. The top finisher, Matthew Thomas Lawder, had an incredible time of 14:12. In second and third place were Jeff Fagan and Brian Doyle. Proceeds from the event will benefit the ECS Publications Endowment.

Panel of Professionals

Another new feature at this meeting was the Panel of Professionals. An engaged crowd listened to the guest speakers from different research sectors giving advice, answering questions, and discussing the unique challenges and opportunities of pursuing a career in their chosen fields. The panel was hosted by Kevin Rhodes of Ford Motors and included Hariklia Deligianni of IBM, Amy Marschilok of Stony Brook University, SUNY, and Gabriel Veith of Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

Career Development Workshops

Attendees had the opportunity to get advice on landing their first or a new job from former IBM executive and founder of his own company, John R. Susko. Susko also gave one-on-one resume review sessions.

Short Courses

There was a great opportunity for continuing education at this meeting as four well-attended short courses were held on Sunday of the meeting: Advanced Impedance Spectroscopy, Fundamentals of Electrochemistry – Basic Theory and Thermodynamic Methods, Grid-Scale Energy Storage, and More-than-Moore Technologies: Device, Circuit and System Perspectives.

Student Poster winnersStudent Poster Contest

The student poster session attracted 84 entrants. Awards were handed out by ESC President, Tetsuya Osaka and Dr. Kalpathy B. Sundaram, professor at the University of Central Florida. The winners were:

First Place, Electrochemical Science & Technology – “Regeneration of Enzymatic Layer on Layer-by-layer Assembled Biosensor Interfaces,” Yuanyuan Zhang, Auburn University.

Second Place, Electrochemical Science & Technology – “Detection of H2O2 Using Redox Active Nanoparticles Immobilized on Highly Ordered Polymer Nanopillars,” Swetha Barkam, University of Central Florida.

First Place, Solid State Science & Technology – “Room Temperature Hydrogen Detection with the Use of Engineered Nanostructured Tinoxide Array,” Rameech McCormack, University of Central Florida.

Second Place, Solid State Science & Technology – “Multifunctional CNT-Polymer Composites for Ultra-tough Structural Supercapacitors and Desalination Devices,” James Benson, Georgia Institute of Technology.

Honorable Mention – “Growth and Transfer of Nanowires with High Density and Aspect-ratio Onto Flexible Substrates,” Cheng Xu, University of Florida at Gainesville.

Student Mixer

Student Mixer

More than 200 students attended a mixer Monday night thanks to the generous support of Gelest.