DOE Webinar: “Grant Writing for Early Career Scientists”

The grant writing and review process can be daunting and difficult for young investigators to navigate. Learn tips and best practices from experts on how to successfully craft a scientific proposal for federal grants, industry partnerships, and non-profit support. A live question and answer session with the audience follows short presentations by each panelist.

Date: Tuesday, April 12, 2022
Time: 1400h ET
Cost: Free and open to the public
Format: Zoom


Professor Phillip Christopher
Mellichamp Chair in Sustainable Manufacturing and Professor in the Chemical Engineering Department University of California, Santa Barbara

Professor Marc Kastner
Donner Professor of Physics, Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
Adjunct Professor of Physics, Stanford University

Dr. Athena Sefat
Program Manager, Materials Sciences and Engineering Division
U.S. Department of Energy

Dr. Junko Yano
Senior Scientist and Interim Director, Molecular Biophysics and Integrated Bioimaging Division
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

About the speakers

Professor Phillip Christopher is the Mellichamp Chair in Sustainable Manufacturing and a Professor in the Chemical Engineering Department at the University of California, Santa Barbara. His awards include a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE).

Professor Marc Kastner is Donner Professor of Physics, Emeritus, MIT, and Adjunct Professor of Physics at Stanford University. He was Founding President of the Science Philanthropy Alliance from 2015 through 2019; he is now a Senior Science Advisor to the Alliance. Kastner has chaired the Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee (BESAC) since 2018.

Dr. Athena Sefat is a Program Manager for the Physical Behavior of Materials (PBM) program in Basic Energy Sciences (BES) and oversees a few of the Energy Frontier Research Centers (EFRCs) within BES. Dr. Sefat received a Department of Energy’s Office of Science Early Career Research Program Award in 2010 while at Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

Dr. Junko Yano is a Senior Scientist and Interim Director in the Molecular Biophysics and Integrated Bioimaging Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. She leads the Photodynamics Team in the Liquid Sunlight Alliance (LiSA) and was a scientific leader in the Joint Center for Artificial Photosynthesis (JCAP).

For more information, visit the Energy Frontier Research Center Community Website.


All content provided in the ECS blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.