ECS Reappoints S. V. Babu to Editorial Advisory Committee

S.V. Babu

S.V. Babu courtesy of Clarkson University

ECS recently announced the reappointment of S.V. Babu, Distinguished University Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering in Clarkson University’s Wallace H. Coulter School of Engineering, to its Editorial Advisory Committee (EAC).

The EAC expedites and facilitates evaluation and publication decisions of manuscripts submitted to ECS journals. In this role, experts like Prof. Babu, provide support to the journal editors in areas where existing technical editors and associate editors may need additional assistance. Committee members are available for a rapid review and additional opinions to supplement conflicting or imbalanced comments from other reviewers; processing assistance in the journal areas that receive a large number of annual submissions; and reviewing and expediting articles that go in the Society’s other communications media.

Babu is the past director of Clarkson’s Center for Advanced Materials Processing and an expert in the field of chemical-mechanical planarization (CMP), holding 31 patents. He has supervised 44 PhD and 38 MS students and is a co-author of more than 250 professional publications, including 198 peer-reviewed publications. He has organized and co-organized many conferences and symposiums, as well as served as keynote speaker numerous times. He has been named twice with the IBM Faculty Award (2004 and 2016), and acknowledgement of his contributions to education and research from Intel, The Chinese Academy of Sciences, and the World Education Congress among other external recognition.

In his previous term with the EAC, Prof. Babu led the publication of a focus issue on “Chemical Mechanical Planarization: Advanced Material and Consumable Challenges” by the ECS Journal of Solid State Science and Technology (Vol. 4, Issue 11, 2015). He also edited a book, titled Advances in Chemical Mechanical Planarization that was just published by Woodhead publishing, a division of Elsevier.

In addition to Prof. Babu (Clarkson University, USA), the current EAC membership includes: Scott A. Calabrese Barton (Michigan State University, USA), Byung Doo Chin (Dankook University, Korea), Mike Hickner (Penn State University, USA), Sean King (Intel Corporation, USA), Rainer Kungas (Haldor Topsoe A/S, Denmark), and Anant Setlur (General Electric Global Research, USA).

For more information about the EAC, read “Strengthening the Peer Review Process.”


All content provided in the ECS blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.

Post Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *