Physical and Analytical Electrochemistry Award

Gasteiger-imageHubert Gasteiger of Technische Universität München’s Institute for Technical Electrochemistry will be awarded the 2015 Physical and Analytical Electrochemistry Division David C. Grahame Award for his work focusing on materials, electrodes, and diagnostics development for fuel cells and batteries.

The prestigious award was established in 1981 to encourage excellence in physical electrochemistry research.

Hubert A. Gasteiger has touched many aspects of electrochemical science, from academia to industry. He studied at UC Berkeley before he went on to do a one-year postdoctoral fellowship at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, followed by academic research with Jürgen Behm at Ulm University—where he established a research group in heterogeneous gas-phase catalysis and electrocatalysis.

After nine years of academic research, he spent ten years working in industry with organizations such as GM, Opel, and Acta S.p.A. He returned to the academic realm in 2009 when he accepted a one-year Visiting Professorship at MIT, working on lithium-air batteries and fuel cell electrocatalysis. Dr. Gasteiger is currently the Chair of Technical Electrochemistry at Technische Universität München.

The award will be presented at the 227th ECS Meeting in Chicago this May. Registration for this meeting is now open!

And take a peak at Dr. Gasteiger’s meeting abstract entitled, “Kinetics of the Hydrogen Oxidation in Alkaline and Acid Electrolytes”.

P.S. Check out more of Dr. Gasteiger’s work in the ECS Digital Library, including this recently published open access article on lithium-sulfur batteries!


All content provided in the ECS blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.

Post Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *