Minji Kim

Minji Kim

The Society and ECS Korea Section congratulate the 2024 Korea Section Student Award winner, Minji Kim. The award recognizes Minji’s significant contributions to elucidating the degradation mechanisms of cathode materials in lithium ion batteries.

Join us in congratulating Minji! We wish her continued success in her electrochemistry and solid state science studies and research.

Minji Kim

Minji Kim is enrolled in the integrated Energy Science and Engineering MS and PhD program at Sungkyunkwan University (SKKU), where she started in the fall of 2018. Her research under Professor Won-Sub Yoon’s supervision at the SKKU Energy Conversion & Storage Materials Laboratory (ECSML) focuses on analyzing the capacity degradation mechanisms of cathode materials for lithium ion batteries using synchrotron x-ray. Her investigation of capacity degradation during long-term high-temperature cycles in a pouch full cell system, employing commercial Ni-rich layered cathode materials and graphite anode materials, was published in 2023 in Advanced Energy Materials (13, 41, 2302209). Minji also conducts ongoing research on various mechanisms of both commercial cathode materials and next-generation cathode materials, including Li-rich disordered materials. (more…)

ECS’s robust awards and recognition program recognizes outstanding technical achievements in electrochemical, solid state science and technology at every career stage and recognizes exceptional service to the Society. Categories of awards include ECS Society, Division, Section, and Student Awards.

Nominations are now being accepted for the awards listed below. Please visit the award webpages for eligibility criteria, nomination guidelines, and award prizes. (more…)

The ECS Honors and Awards Program and the ECS Battery Division proudly announce the creation of the new ECS Battery Division M. Stanley Whittingham Mid-Career Award recognizing mid-career achievement and contributions to the field of electrochemical energy storage.

When the pandemic caused the cancellation of a PRiME 2020 event honoring his winning the Nobel prize, Dr. Whittingham requested that donations to the event be used for an award. The Battery Division Early M. Stanley Whittingham Mid-Career Award is partially funded through these donations. (more…)


The ECS Georgia Section recognized the 2023 ECS Georgia Section Outstanding Student Achievement Award winners, Habin Park of Georgia Institute of Technology, and Fengyi Zhao of Emory University, at their fall section meeting on October 26, 2023, at the Georgia Institute of Technology. At the meeting, Habin Park delivered his award lecture, “Sustainable Green Hydrogen Production via Innovative Engineering in Anion-Exchange Membrane Alkaline Water Electrolysis.” Fengyi Zhao’s talk was titled “Direct operando observation of surface charge build-up on TiO2 photoanode under water oxidation conditions by Electric Field induced Second Harmonic Generation.” Congratulations, Habin and Fengyi! (more…)

Yaoli Zhao

Yaoli Zhao

The 2023 winner of the ECS Sensor Division Student Research Award is Yaoli Zhao of the University of Buffalo for her contributions to developing a new method for standoff and point detection of chemicals by combining photothermal and photoacoustic effects with microfabricated cantilever beams to simultaneously achieve very high molecular selectivity and very high sensitivity.  She will be recognized at the 245th ECS Meeting in San Francisco, CA, and deliver her award talk there.

Yaoli Zhao is a PhD student working in Thomas Thundat’s University at Buffalo lab, specializing in the field of chemical detection. Her current research focuses on developing innovative standoff detection sensors, specifically for plastic classification. Zhao successfully developed techniques and demonstrated methods for molecular identification of plastics, which resulted in the publication of multiple research papers in refereed journals including one as a corresponding author in the Journal of The Electrochemical Society. (more…)

James Noël, past ECS Corrosion Division Chair, presents award to Sanjay Choudhary.

Join us in congratulating Sanjay Choudhary of the University of Virginia, recipient of the 2023 ECS Corrosion Division Morris Cohen Graduate Student Award! Sanjay presented his award talk at the 244th ECS Meeting in Gothenburg, Sweden.

Sanjay Choudhary
University of Virginia
C01—1082 Evolution of Passivity and Passivity-Breakdown for Cr and Cr-Containing Alloys

Sanjay Choudhary is a Postdoctoral Research Associate with Prof. Robert G. Kelly at the University of Virginia where he studies localized corrosion characteristics of Al-alloys used in aerospace and stainless-steel dry storage containers, by means of in situ transmission electron microscopy and finite element modeling. (more…)

The following ECS Awards have nomination deadlines from December 2023 through February 2024. Click on the links below for further information.

ECS uses an electronic portal for all applications. Review these tips for the best results. Questions or concerns? Contact us; we are here to help. (more…)

Prestigious student awards presented at ECS 244th Meeting

Congratulations to Gustavo Hobold, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and KyuJung Jun, University of California, Berkeley, winners of the 2023 ECS Battery Division Student Research Award Sponsored by Mercedes-Benz Research and Development. Hobold and Jun presented their award talks at the 244th ECS Meeting in Gothenburg, Sweden.

Gustavo Hobold
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
A07—0984   Quantitative SEI-based Descriptors For Li metal Liquid Electrolyte Design

Gustavo M. Hobold is a PhD candidate in Mechanical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), working with Prof. Betar Gallant. His research focuses on developing a quantitative understanding of the functional properties and chemical composition of solid electrolyte interphases (SEI) formed natively on Li anodes. Hobold’s work leverages in situ experiments and high-throughput post-mortem titration-based techniques to precisely quantify the formation of a wide range of SEI phases and decipher capacity loss mechanisms in modern high Coulombic efficiency (CE) electrolytes. Ultimately, his work revealed several quantifiable SEI-based descriptors that can guide future liquid electrolyte discovery, aiming to breach >99.9% CE. Prior to MIT, Gustavo received his Engineering degree and MS in Mechanical Engineering from the Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina.


2023 ECS Student Chapters of Excellence are at Texas Tech University and ECS Indian Institute of Technology Madras 

Congratulations to the ECS University of Notre Dame Student Chapter, named the 2023 Outstanding Student Chapter Award. The 2023 Student Chapters of Excellence are at Texas Tech University and the Indian Institute of Technology Madras.

ECS is proud to support the ECS Student Chapters’ journeys to scientific knowledge via community, connection, and career building.

ECS Outstanding Student Chapter 

The Society established the Outstanding Student Chapter Award in 2012 to recognize distinguished ECS Student Chapters that demonstrate active participation in the Society’s technical activities; establish community and outreach activities in the areas of electrochemical and solid state science and engineering education; and create and maintain a robust membership base. (more…)

Congratulations to Sang Cheol Kim and John Petrovick

Sang Cheol Kim of Stanford University has been awarded the 2023 ECS San Francisco Section Daniel Cubicciotti Student Award. John Petrovick of KTH Kungliga Tekniska högskolan has been awarded the Honorable Mention.


  • Page 1 of 27