Olin Palladium Award

palladium-webThe Olin Palladium Award was established in 1950 for distinguished contributions to the field of electrochemical or corrosion science.

Nomination Deadline: October 1, even years
Presented: Fall meeting, odd years

Eligibility criteria

The recipient will be distinguished for contributions to the field of electrochemical or corrosion science. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the fundamental understanding of all types of electrochemical and corrosion phenomena and processes. The recipient does not need to be a member of The Electrochemical Society.

Nomination guidelines

Nominations, once submitted, shall be considered in effect for two consecutive award cycles. 

A complete nomination package includes:

  • Completed Electronic Nomination Form
  • At least two, but no more than five supporting letters (one page in length)
  • Additional documents that may be included:

– Candidate’s curriculum vitae
– Publications list
– Other pertinent information that supports and strengthens the candidate’s nomination


The award consists of a Palladium medal and a plaque that contains a bronze replica thereof, both bearing the recipient’s name, the sum of US $7,500, complimentary meeting registration for award recipient and companion, a dinner held in recipient’s honor during the designated meeting, and Life Membership in The Society. The recipient will receive the award at the designated Society meeting and deliver a general address on a subject related to the contributions for which the award is being presented.

About the Olin Palladium Award

The ECS Olin Palladium Award was established in 1950 with funds from the royalties derived from the sale of Herbert H. Uhlig’s Corrosion Handbook. The handbook was sponsored and largely written by members active in the ECS Corrosion Division. Uhlig served as Editor-in-Chief.


Jeff Dahn
Gerald Frankel
Shimshon Gottesfeld
Philippe Marcus
Digby MacDonald
Ralph White
Koji Hashimoto
Dieter M. Kolb
Sergio Trasatti
Robert A. Rapp
Eliezer Gileadi
Norio Sato


John B. Goodenough
Royce W. Murray
Jerome Kruger
Jean M. Savéant
John S. Newman
Brian E. Conway
Allen J. Bard
Martin Fleischmann


Morris Cohen
Izaak M. Kolthoff
Roger Parsons
Heinz Gerischer
Marcel J. N. Pourbaix
Veniamin G. Levich
Leo Brewer
Thomas P. Hoar


Paul Delahay
Norman Hackerman
Herbert H. Uhlig
Alexander N. Frumkin
Karl F. Bonhoeffer
Ulick R. Evans
Nathaniel H. Furman
Carl W. Wagner