PRiME 2024: D01– Photovoltaics for the 21st Century – 20th Anniversary: New Materials and Processes

Topic close-up #6

D01Photovoltaics for the 21st Century – 20th Anniversary: New Materials and Processes

PRiME 2024, a joint international meeting of The Electrochemical Society (ECS), The Electrochemical Society of Japan (ECSJ), and The Korean Electrochemical Society (KECS), takes place in Honolulu, HI, from October 6-11, 2024.

For additional information on PRiME 2024 symposia, see topic close-ups.

Abstract submission deadline:
April 12, 2024
Submit today!

Symposium focus: This symposium provides a forum for the discussion of terawatt-scale solar-to-electrical conversion technologies that have the potential to scale toward meeting global energy demand and becoming an impactful source of energy in the 21st century. To achieve terawatt scale photovoltaics, it is necessary to focus on the scalability and sustainability of photovoltaics. In addition to lowering cost and improving efficiency, research is needed in earth-abundant raw materials, energy-efficient fabrication, and recycling of waste solar modules.

This symposium invites contributions in both current and emerging areas of solar photovoltaic research and covers a whole spectrum of cell technologies.

Confirmed keynote and invited speakers

Keynote speakers
Prof. Prashant Kamat, University of Notre Dame
Prof. Nam-Gyu Park, Sungkyunkwan University
Prof. Hiroshi Segawa, The University of Tokyo

Invited speakers
Prof. Shuji Hayase, The University of Electro-Communications
Prof. Atsushi Wakamiya, Kyoto University
Prof. Akinori Saeki, Osaka University
Prof. Itaru Osaka, Hiroshima University
Dr. Naoyuki Nakagawa, Toshiba Corporation
Mr. Masafumi Ito, NPC Incorporated
Prof. Noritaka Usami, Nagoya University
Dr. Tomohiro Higashino, Kyoto University
Dr. Takurou Murakami, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)
Prof. Sangil Seok, Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology
Prof. Hyunjung Shin, Sungkyunkwan University
Prof. Hyunseok Jung, Sungkyunkwan University
Prof. Min Jae Ko, Hanyang University
Prof. Dong Suk Kim, Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology
Prof. Kyungkon Kim, Ewha Woman’s University
Prof. YoonHee Kim, Kyungsang National University
Prof. Wallace C. H. Choy, The University of Hong Kong
Prof. Jin Young Kim, Seoul National University
Dr. Pablo Dias, SOLARCYCLE, Inc.
Dr. Kai Zhu, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)

Presentations on these topics are solicited:

1) Scalable and green solution-based processing technologies, material synthesis for solar cells
2) Perovskite, organic, quantum dots, including emerging nanomaterials, heterojunction, and hybrid solar cells
3) Sustainable practices of waste treatment in solar cell and module fabrication processes
4) Devices and materials for scalable manufacturing, stability, and performance
5) Earth-abundant solar materials: synthesis and properties
6) Device degradation and reliability for current and future solar modules including lightweight wearable, flexible designs
7) Cost-effective approaches to recycle current and future waste solar modules
8) Innovative applications and systems that match the characteristics of solar energy
9) Evaluation and characterization technologies for solar cells and modules

Invited speakers from industry and academia will provide an overview of the current status and explore future directions of solar photovoltaics.

ECS Transactions

ECS Transactions, an enhanced issue of the conference proceedings, is planned to be available at the meeting. All authors accepted for presentation are requested, but not required, to submit their full text manuscript for the issue no later than July 19, 2024. All manuscripts should be submitted online and must be in either MS Word or PDF format.

Symposium organizers

Prof. Hiroki Hamada, Kindai University
Prof. Thad Druffel, University of Louisville
Prof. Jae-Joon Lee, Dongguk University
Prof. Meng Tao, Arizona State University
Prof. Zhi David Chen, University of Kentucky
Prof. S. Ito, University of Hyogo
Prof. SungYeon Jang, Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology
Prof. Jin Young Kim, Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology
Prof. Nobuyuki Matsuki, Kanagawa University
Prof. Chang Eun Song, Korea Research Institute of Chemical Technology

For additional information, consult the Call for Papers.


All content provided in the ECS blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.