Electronics and Photonics Division Award

The Electronics and Photonics Division Award was established in 1969 to encourage excellence in electronics research and outstanding technical contribution to the field of electronics science. The award recognizes authors who have made noteworthy scientific contributions and enhanced the scientific stature of the Society by the presentation of well received papers in the journal and at Society meetings. For the purpose of this award, electronics science is defined as that area of knowledge which encompasses the physics, chemistry, and metallurgy of electronic materials and devices.

Nomination Period: March 15 – June 15, annually
Presented: Spring meeting, annually

Recipient qualifications

The award is granted to currently active members of The Electrochemical Society who have had some recent technical achievement in, or outstanding scientific contribution to, electronic science by having been an author or coauthor in the publication of more than one paper in the journal and/or presentation of more than one full paper at a Society meeting, within the previous five years, in addition to holding ECS Electronics & Photonics Division membership for at least five cumulative years.

A nominee will be automatically considered through two successive award cycles. Re-nomination is permitted.


The award consists of a scroll, a US $1,500 prize and the choice of up to US $1,000 of un-reimbursed expenses to facilitate travel to the designated meeting or life membership. In the event that the award is made jointly to two or more co-recipients, each co-recipient will receive all mentioned items.


Jean-Michel Hartmann

Eddy Simoen
Andrew Steckl
Jung Han
Tae-Yeon Seong
D. Noel Buckley
Michael Shur

Cammy Abernathy
Albert Baca
Durgamadhab (Durga) Misra
Chennupati Jagadish
M. Jamal Deen
Lih J. Chen
Eicke R. Weber
Fan Ren
Yue Kuo
Hisham Massoud
S. J. Pearton
Cor Claeys
T. Ohmi

Sorin Cristoloveanu
S. Murarka
S. N. G. Chu
Ulrich Goesele
A. Tasch
Howard R. Huff
L. C. Kimerling
George K. Celler
B. S. Meyerson
G. S. Oehrlein
C. M. Osburn
D. M. Brown
Ted Kamins
K. E. Bean
B. Schwartz
E. H. Nicollian


Arnold Reisman
D. W. Shaw
G. W. Cullen
G. A. Rozgonyi
J. M. Woodall
E. Sirtl
C. M. Wolfe
Albert Y. Cho
M. G. Craford
H. M. Manasevit
B. E. Deal
W. A. Pliskin
M. B. Panish
F. C. Palilla
Forrest A. Trumbore