Energy Technology Division Research Award

The Energy Technology Division Research Award was established in 1992 to encourage excellence in energy related research and to encourage publication in the Journal of The Electrochemical Society. The award recognizes outstanding and original contributions to the science and technology of energy related research areas.

The definition of the field of interest covered by the Research Award is “that area of electrochemical knowledge which deals with the mechanisms, theory, materials, design, operation, control and application of devices that contribute to the understanding and applications of energy related technologies.”

Nomination Deadline: March 15 – June 15, annually
Presented: Spring meeting, annually

Recipient qualifications

The recipient(s) is an active ECS member and will have made an outstanding achievement in, or scientific contribution to, the science and technology of energy related scientific research as authors or coauthors of a paper or papers, at least one of which must have appeared in the Journal or other ECS publications. As supporting evidence, the patent literature also may enter into consideration.

  • originality of concept and design of experiments
  • thoroughness of the experimental approach
  • the theoretical treatment
  • logic of the conclusions
  • clarity of presentation
  • the overall importance of the contribution to the fundamental and/or applied aspects of energy related science and technologies

It is the intent of the research award to recognize recent achievements or contributions to the field that can be expected to have an impact on future research and development. Because the significance of the work may become more evident with time, consideration may be given to papers that have appeared as much as ten years prior to May 1 of the award year. 

Nomination submissions

There must be two or more nominees in a given year for the award subcommittee to make a selection.  If there is only one nominee, that candidate will not be considered, but the nomination packet will be considered automatically in the following year. Self-nominations are permissible.

No member of the Award Subcommittee for this award may submit a nomination or letters of support during their term of service.

A complete nomination package will include:

  • Completed Electronic Nomination Form
  • A nomination cover letter the summarizes the candidate’s accomplishments and contributions
  • A copy of the candidate’s CV, including a complete publication list
  • Three letters of recommendation
  • Copies of six representative publications and/or patents that provide evidence of research accomplishments

An unsuccessful nomination will automatically remain active for the following two years if there is remaining eligibility.


The award consists of a scroll, a US $2,000 prize and membership in the Energy Technology Division for as long as the recipient maintains Society membership. If the award is made jointly to two or more coauthors, each coauthor will receive all mentioned items. The recipient(s) will all be asked to present a lecture to the Energy Technology Division at the designated meeting where the award is presented.


Adam Weber
Vito Di Noto
Bryan Pivovar
Paul Kenis
Plamen Atanassov
Yushan Yan
Hubert Gasteiger
Thomas Zawodzinski
Rodney Borup

James Fenton
Piotr Zelenay
Not awarded
Claude Lévy-Clément
John Weidner
Karim Zaghib
Krishnan Rajeshwar
Jai Prakash
Thomas F. Fuller
R. Adzic
Y. K. Sun

S. Licht
K. Kanamura
K. Kinoshita
A. Nozik
J. R. Selman
I. Uchida
A. W. Czanderna
R. Kunz
S. Srinivasan
M. W. Verbrugge