Physical and Analytical Electrochemistry Division Max Bredig Award in Molten Salt and Ionic Liquid Chemistry

The Physical and Analytical Electrochemistry Division Max Bredig Award in Molten Salt and Ionic Liquid Chemistry was established in 1984 to recognize excellence in the field and to stimulate publication of high quality research papers in this area in the Journal of The Electrochemical Society. The award was financed by contributions from ARCO Metals Company and the Aluminum Company of America. Since this fund was established, an additional contribution was made by Princeton Applied Research.

Nomination Period: October 15, even years – January 15, odd years 
Presented: Fall meeting, even years

Recipient qualifications

The recipient will be a scientist working in molten salt and ionic liquid chemistry with significant contribution(s) to this area. The recipient need not be a member of the Society. A nomination will be automatically considered through two successive award cycles. Re-nomination is permitted.


The award consists of a scroll and a US $1,500 prize. As the award presentation coincides with the International Symposium on Molten Salts and Ionic Liquids, the recipient is required to attend the corresponding Society meeting and present a lecture at the symposium. In the event that the award is made jointly to two or more co-recipients, each co-recipient will receive a scroll and a check for an amount to be decided by PAED.

About Max Bredig

Max Albrecht Bredig was a physical chemist who studied the polymorphism of Ca2SiO4. He was an Associate Director of the Chemistry Division at Oak Ridge National Laboratory and an expert in the chemistry of molten salts and chemistry of the solid state, especially high temperature and crystal chemistry. The mineral called Bredigite is named after him.


Tom Welton
Sheng Dai
Robin Rogers
Masayoshi Watanabe
Charles Hussey
Derek Fray
C. Austen Angell
Bernard Gilbert
J. Wilkes

M. Gaune-Escard
G. N. Papatheodorou
Y. Ito
H. Oye
N. J. Bjerrum
G. Mamantov
R. A. Osteryoung
G. P. Smith
M. Blander