Arumugam Manthiram Named First Recipient of the John B. Goodenough Award of The Electrochemical Society

Professor Arumugam Manthiram

Professor Arumugam Manthiram

Pennington, NJ – Arumugam Manthiram, George T. & Gladys H. Abell Endowed Chair of Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin, has been named the first recipient of the recently created John B. Goodenough Award of The Electrochemical Society. The new Goodenough award recognizes distinguished contributions to the fundamental and technological aspects of electrochemical materials science and engineering. Professor Manthiram’s major contributions to the field include pioneering fundamental and technological contributions to electrochemical energy conversion and storage, involving the development of new materials, advanced characterization, structure-property-performance relationships, and prototype devices. Key examples include the development of sustainable, low-cost, durable materials for batteries and fuel cells as well as delineation of the intricacies involved with ion and electron transport and magnetic interactions in transition-metal oxides. The award will be presented during the 243rd ECS Meeting in Boston, MA, from May 28 to June 2, 2023. Prof. Manthiram will deliver his award address at that meeting.

“The Electrochemical Society is honored to bestow the first ECS Goodenough Award on Prof. Arumugam Manthiram, a dedicated member and supporter of ECS, renowned for his exceptional scientific contributions and superior teaching. This tribute is especially fitting given Arumugam’s long-term relationship with Prof. Goodenough. From serving as a postgraduate researcher with Prof. Goodenough at Oxford University in 1985, to delivering the 2019 Chemistry Nobel Prize Lecture in Stockholm on John’s behalf, this award is a wonderful tribute to their enduring collaboration,” said Christopher Jannuzzi, ECS Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer.

Arumugam Manthiram received his PhD in Solid State Chemistry from the Indian Institute of Technology Madras in 1980. Named Assistant Professor in the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering at UT Austin in 1991, he was promoted to the rank of Professor in 2000. He served as Director of the Texas Materials Institute and the Materials Science and Engineering Graduate Program from 2011 through 2022.

Prof. Manthiram has provided research training to over 300 students and postdoctoral researchers, including graduating 69 PhD students, 55 of whom are now faculty around the world; several hold leadership positions in industry. His current research group includes about 35 graduate students and postdoctoral fellows. The author of more than 900 journal articles with over 98,000 citations and an h-index of 155, Prof. Manthiram has 20 issued patents. He is one of 6,200 scientists and engineers in all fields in the world included as Web of Science Highly Cited Researchers every year since 2017.

Numerous honors mark Prof. Manthiram’s distinguished contributions to science. He is an elected Fellow of The Electrochemical Society, Royal Society of Chemistry, Materials Research Society, American Ceramic Society, American Association for the Advancement of Science, and World Academy of Materials and Manufacturing Engineering, and elected academician of the World Academy of Ceramics. He received the 2021 ECS Battery Division Technology Award; 2020 ECS Henry B. Linford Award for Distinguished Teaching; 2020 International Battery Association Research Award; 2018 Da Vinci Award; 2016 Billy and Claude R. Hocott Distinguished Centennial Engineering Research Award; 2015 Indian Institute of Technology Madras Distinguished Alumnus Award; 2014 ECS Battery Division Research Award; 2012 University of Texas Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award, and other awards.

After joining ECS in 1995, Prof. Manthiram volunteered with the Society in positions including Chair of the ECS Texas Section (2006-2007) and ECS Battery Division (2010-2012), and on many ECS committees including the Editorial Advisory Board, Symposium Planning Advisory Board, Interdisciplinary Science and Technology Subcommittee, and various award subcommittees. He founded the ECS UT Austin Student Chapter in 2006 and continues as its Faculty Advisor today.

The Electrochemical Society

ECS has led the world in electrochemistry and solid state science and technology and allied subjects since 1902. We are a volunteer-directed international nonprofit professional society advancing scientific theory and practice by publishing cutting-edge research, hosting prestigious meetings, fostering training and education, and collaborating with other organizations. Our robust global membership develops innovative solutions to the planet’s major challenges. Scientists, engineers, and industry leaders share pioneering scientific developments, exchange ideas, network, and expand research horizons at ECS biannual, co-hosted, and sponsored meetings. The ECS Digital Library on IOPscience hosts highly peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles and meeting abstracts from our distinguished publications including the Journal of The Electrochemical Society (the oldest peer-reviewed journal in its field) and ECS Journal of Solid State Science and Technology. The Society supports open access throughout its publications, launching two new Gold Open Access journals, ECS Sensors and ECS Advances, in 2022.

Media Contact
The Electrochemical Society
Shannon Reed
Director of Community Relations
609.737.1902, Ext. 107