Battery Division Technology Award

The Battery Division Technology Award was established in 1993 to encourage the development of battery and fuel cell technology, and to recognize significant achievements in this area. This award defines the field of interest covered as “that area of electrochemical technology which deals with the design, fabrication, scale-up, performance, lifetime, operation, control and application of devices (i.e. primary and secondary cells and batteries, and fuel cells) in which chemical energy can be converted into usable electrical energy by an electrochemical process.”

Nomination Period: October 15 – January 15, annually
Presented: Fall meeting, annually

Recipient qualifications

Only currently active members of ECS will be considered for the award.

The recipient(s) will be an author or coauthors of a paper or papers, at least one of which must have appeared in the Journal or another ECS publication, that report such new advances in battery and/or fuel cell technology. As supporting evidence, the patent literature may be considered if the advance has been made the subject of letters of patent by the author(s). The importance and significance of the achievement or contribution will be judged on the basis of the document(s) in which it is reported. To be considered, the document(s) must show technical excellence of a high order, as well as practical applications of the technology. Factors to be considered include:

  • the overall importance of the contribution to the practical application of batteries and/or fuel cells
  • originality of concept
  • planning and execution of experiments
  • analysis of results
  • clarity of presentation

The award is intended to recognize recent contributions to the field that can be expected to have an impact on future battery and/or fuel cell applications. Because the significance of the work may become more evident with time, consideration should be given to papers that have appeared as much as ten years prior to May 1 of the award year. 


The award consists of a scroll, a US $2,000 prize and Battery Division membership for as long as the recipient maintains Society membership. The award recipient(s) will be asked to, but is not required, to present a lecture to the Battery Division at the fall meeting of the Society at which the award is presented. Discretionary travel grants may apply to facilitate meeting attendance. If the award is made jointly to two or more coauthors, each coauthor will receive all items listed.


Jun Lu
Arumugam Manthiram
Yong Yang
Jie Xiao
Yi Cui
Yongyao Xia
Feng Pan
Jun Liu
Yang-Kook Sun
Dominique Guyomard


Ashok Shukla
Feng Wu
Karim Zaghib
Yet-Ming Chiang
Jeffrey Dahn
Khalil Amine
Eiji Endoh
Hiroshi Inoue
Satoshi Mizutani
Michel Broussely
K. Lee
Doron Aurbach
Petr Novak

M. Ue
M. Yoshio
J. Yamaki
D. Wilkinson
M. Winter
Boone Owens
H. Y. Chey
A. Yoshino
G. E. Blomgren
J. M. Tarascon
S. Gilman
E. S. Takeuchi
K. Ozawa
Y. Nishi