232nd ECS Meeting: Student Poster Session Award Winners

Student Poster Session

Winners of the Student Poster Session with ECS President Johna Leddy (center). Click to enlarge.

Congratulations to the winners of the General Student Poster Session for the 232nd ECS Meeting in National Harbor, Maryland!

ECS established the General Student Poster Session Awards in 1993 to acknowledge the eminence of its students’ work. The winners exhibit a profound understanding of their research topic and its relation to fields of interest to ECS.

In order to be eligible for the General Student Poster Session Awards, students must submit their abstracts to the Z01 General Society Student Poster Session symposium and present their posters at the biannual meeting.

The winners of the General Student Poster Session Awards for the 232st ECS Meeting are as follows:

1st Place – Wet
Name: Saad Intikhab
Institution: Drexel University
Poster Number: 2218
Poster Title: Understanding the pH Dependence of the Reversible Hydrogen Reaction through Modified Low Index Pt Single Crystals

2nd Place – Wet
Name: Sungyup Jung
Institution: The City College of New York
Poster Number: 2190
Poster Title: Effects of Reaction Conditions on Electroreduction of Biomass-Derived Furfural and Its Side Reactions in Acidic Electrolyte

3rd Place – Wet
Name: Travis Omasta
Institution: University of Connecticut
Poster Number: 2230
Poster Title: Methanol Production – a Key Intermediate in the Electrochemical Interconversion of Organics to Chemicals and Fuels

1st Place – Solid
Name: Yubin Liu
Institution: Kanagawa University
Poster Number: 2167
Poster Title: Synthesis of Water-Resistant thin TiOx Layer-Coated High-Capacity LiNiaCobAl1-a-BO2 (a > 0.85) Cathode and Its Stable Charge/Discharge Cycle Cathode Performance to Apply a Water-Based Hybrid Polymer Binder to Li-Ion Batteries

2nd Place – Solid
Name: Abubakar Khaleed
Institution: University of Pretoria, South Africa
Poster Number: 2160
Poster Title: Solvothermal Preparation of Microspherical Flowerlike Ni(OH)2/Graphene Oxide Electrode for Electrochemical Capacitor Application

Honorable Mentions

Name: Hiroki Shiikuma
Institution: Tokyo University of Science
Poster Number: 2189
Poster Title: Dependence of Crystal Structure and Electronic Structures, Dielectric and Piezoelectric Properties on Composition for (K, Na)NbO3-(Bi, Na)TiO3

Name: Oliver Harris
Institution: Drexel University
Poster Number: 2157
Poster Title: Understanding Capacity Fade Mechanisms in High-Voltage Lithium-Ion Batteries

Name: Mariko Kadowaki
Institution: Tohoku University
Poster Number: 2184
Poster Title: Real-Time Microelectrochemical Observation of Very Early Stage of Pitting on Carbon Steel in Chloride Solution

ECS would like to thank the sponsors of the 232nd ECS Meeting, faculty advisors, and division members serving as judges.

Congratulations to the award winners!


All content provided in the ECS blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.

Post Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *