Sho FujitaCongratulations to Sho Fujita of Queen’s University, Canada, recipient of the 2022 ECS Canada Section Student Award! For over 20 years, the section has recognized promising young engineers and scientists in the field of electrochemical power sources with this award. To qualify, students must be pursuing PhDs at Canadian universities in any area of science or engineering in which electrochemical science and technology and/or solid state science and technology is the central consideration. A Canadian university faculty member nominates them.


ECS University of Waterloo Student Chapter is 2022 Chapter of Excellence

The Society established the Outstanding Student Chapter Award in 2012 to recognize distinguished ECS Student Chapters that demonstrate active participation in the Society’s technical activities; establish community and outreach activities in the areas of electrochemical and solid state science and engineering education; and create and maintain a robust membership base.

2022 ECS Outstanding Student Chapter

The ECS Purdue University Student Chapter, founded in May 2019, won the 2022 Outstanding Student Chapter for its dedication and commitment to the advancement of electrochemical and solid state science and engineering education. (more…)

(From left to right) Alexander McLeod, University of British Columbia, and Lena Viviane Buehre, Leibniz Universität Hannover, shared 2nd Prize; and 1st Prize winner Raunaq Bagchi, University of Toronto.

Students submitted nearly 100 posters to the 241st ECS Meeting Z01 General Student Poster Session. Judges reviewed the digital presentations and chose the following for awards. Congratulations to the winners! Please take a moment to celebrate the authors’ excellent work.

Z01 – General Student Poster Session awards

1st Prize – $1,500 Cash

Raunaq Bagchi, University of Toronto
Z01-2279 – “Effect of Surface Chemistry and Morphology on Polyluminol-Carbon Redox Active Composites

Youngjin HamCongratulations to award recipient Youngjin Ham

The ECS Korea Section Student Award was established in 2005 to recognize a Korean university PhD student’s academic accomplishments in any area of science or engineering in which electrochemical and/or solid state science and technology is the central consideration. The winner receives a US $500 prize. Dr. Ham joins a distinguished list of ECS Korea Section Student Award winners.


Apply today to serve as a Student Ambassador at the 241st ECS Meeting in Vancouver, BC, Canada, from May 29-June 2, 2022. Students who volunteer as ambassadors work closely with ECS staff and meet many fellow ECS members and meeting attendees.

Student Ambassadors receive:
  • 50 percent off the meeting registration fee;
  • Student Mixer ticket;
  • Members Reception ticket;
  • Complimentary ECS Student Membership for one (1) year;
  • Chic Student Ambassador (volunteer) t-shirt!

Take advantage of this unique opportunity to network and engage with meeting attendees, symposium organizers, and ECS staff! Multilingual speakers are highly encouraged to apply! (more…)

The ECS Montréal Student Chapter is delighted to invite you to the 11th Annual ECS Montreal Student Chapter Symposium. This yearly event attracts over 100 students, professors, researchers, and industry scientists to explore topics related to electrochemical and solid state science research. (more…)

We’re here to champion you!

ECS champions members and their research

When the rock group Queen sang “We are the champions of the world,” they could have been describing ECS members.

“Science and scientists are absolutely vital to solving health issues and climate change—the grand challenges confronting society. The ECS community—scientists and engineers, students and postdocs, young and old minds—has a great role to play in solving these problems.”

Arumugam “Ram” Manthiram
Director, Texas Materials Institute and the Materials Science and Engineering Program

Joe C. Walter Chair in Engineering and Jack S. Josey Professor in Energy Studies
The University of Texas Austin (more…)

Posted in Membership

ECS brings your work to the world

Electrochemistry and solid state science and technology are the keys to solving many global problems. ECS is committed to supporting its members to accelerate the speed of science. (more…)

Members are the ROI at ECS

ECS empowers researchers at the forefront of discovery

Marm Dixit was a grad student at the 236th ECS Meeting in Atlanta, GA. John Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino had just won the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for developing lithium ion batteries.

“A couple of my friends and I were getting coffee. Stan (Whittingham) was in line in front of us. So for the 15 minutes, till we got our coffee, we discussed batteries with the Nobel laureate. That’s pretty damn awesome and really fascinating,” said Marm who is now Weinberg Distinguished Staff Fellow at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. (more…)

ECS members benefit from engagement

Carolyn Graverson, graduate student, Rice University

Carolyn Graverson, graduate student, Rice University

“What’s cool about ECS meetings is that it’s all about the science. It doesn’t matter where you come from or who’s presenting. Meeting participants always recognize quality and respect you for your work,” says Carolyn Graverson, graduate student, Rice University.

ECS members are all winners! We promise our members to:

  • Welcome and value your contributions;
  • Open doors for you to leave your mark on science;
  • Recognize your achievements at ECS meetings and through opportunities for honors, awards, and publications;
  • Advocate for diversity, equity, and inclusion.


Posted in Membership
  • Page 1 of 30