240th ECS Meeting Topic Close-up: Electrochemical Recovery, Recycling, and Sustainability of Critical and Value-Added Materials

Topic Close-up #7

Symposium Z04 – Electrochemical Recovery, Recycling, and Sustainability of Critical and Value-Added Materials                                                                              

Deadline for Submitting Abstracts: April 23, 2021

Submit today!

Symposium focus: Electrochemical systems, in addition to enabling sustainability through energy generation and storage, can play a central role in enabling the cradle to cradle strategy in materials. This strategy encompasses three aspects (a) sustainability-driven right-sized design using electrochemical processing of materials through electrochemical methods such as electrodeposition; (b) electrochemical means of recovering valuable materials after products reach end of life; and (c) design and development of recycling methods for materials used in electrochemical devices such as batteries, fuel cells, electrochemical reactors, etc.

Papers are invited in the areas of:

  • Low or zero carbon ways of synthesizing right structures and smart structures through electrodeposition and electrochemical machining;
  • Research, design, and development of electrochemical reactors to aid in the recovery of rare earth elements, photovoltaic components, battery materials, electronic devices and components, materials from electroplating operations, etc.;
  • Design and build for sustainability aspects of batteries, fuel cells, and other electrochemical devices including, but not limited to, life cycle assessments, mathematical modeling and simulation of recycling, environmentally friendly solvent processing for recycling, etc.

Check the Call for Papers for more details.

Invited speakers:

Antoine Allanore, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, U.S.
Katherine Ayers, Nel Hydrogen, U.S.
Martin Bazant, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, U.S.
Linda Gaines, Argonne National Laboratory, U.S.
Stephen Grot, Ion Power, U.S.
Marta Hatzell, Georgia Institute of Technology, U.S.  
Choonsoo Kim, Kongju University, South Korea
Taeyoung Kim, Clarkson University, U.S.
Toshiyuki Nohira, Kyoto University, Japan
Jeff Spangenberger, Argonne National Laboratory, U.S.
Walter van Schalkwijk, University of Washington, U.S.
Yan Wang, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, U.S.
Mark Williamson, Argonne National Laboratory, U.S.


All content provided in the ECS blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.