Members are the ROI at ECS

ECS empowers researchers at the forefront of discovery

Marm Dixit was a grad student at the 236th ECS Meeting in Atlanta, GA. John Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino had just won the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for developing lithium ion batteries.

“A couple of my friends and I were getting coffee. Stan (Whittingham) was in line in front of us. So for the 15 minutes, till we got our coffee, we discussed batteries with the Nobel laureate. That’s pretty damn awesome and really fascinating,” said Marm who is now Weinberg Distinguished Staff Fellow at Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

Goodenough, Whittingham, and Yoshino are long-term ECS members. Many of their seminal papers were published in ECS journals and proceedings. Whittingham received the ECS Young Author Award in 1971.

ECS empowers researchers at the forefront of discovery—and throughout their careers, maximizing the impact of electrochemistry research on the sustainability of the future.

Join The Electrochemical Society; we’re here to empower you.

ECS offers membership at all career stages. Click here to learn more about the different types of membership. 


All content provided in the ECS blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.