Please join us on Tuesday May 31 at 0700h for an invigorating morning run in support of ECS’s open access efforts.

The race winners (top male and top female) runner will each receive an Open Access Credit! This credit may be used to publish a paper as OA in either JES or JSS.

For more information on ECS publications, please visit the ECS Digital Library and the ECS online store and be sure to stop by the ECS Publications booth, located on the Sapphire Level of the San Diego Hilton Bayfront.

Looking forward to seeing you in San Diego!

Free the Science 5K is Back!

Free the Science 5K

Free the Science 5K at the 227th ECS Meeting in Chicago.

Start jogging now, because this May the Free the Science 5K returns to the ECS biannual meeting. Join us in San Diego on Tuesday, May 31st at 0700h for a refreshing morning run in support of ECS’s Free the Science initiative.

Free the Science reflects ECS’s bold commitment to advancing and openly sharing scientific research. In light of the importance of our fields to global progress and sustainability, we want to publish the best research in electrochemistry and solid state science at no charge to authors, and make it freely available to all readers.

You can help us reach this goal by running to Free the Science. All profits from the 5K will go toward making the Free the Science vision a reality. To join the race, simply add a ticket to your meeting registration or visit the customer service counter at the meeting. Early-bird registration for the race is $30; onsite is $35. And don’t forget to invite your local friends—the race is open to the public!

Rather sleep in on Tuesday? You can still support Free the Science in many ways, including donating or choosing to publish open access. Learn more about Free the Science.

Come out and join us on Tuesday morning—get charged up with a run through the beautiful San Diego waterfront and show your support for open science.


Free the Science 5K Results

Top male and female finishers,

Top male and female finishers, Matthew Lawder and Elizabeth Jones.

We’ve got the results of the Free the Science 5K held during the 227th ECS Meeting. The reigning champ, Matthew Lawder, was first overall with a time of 16:45. In the women’s category, Elizabeth Jones was the first with a time of 22:06.

Proceeds from this event will benefit the ECS Publications Endowment.

(PS: Were you in the race? Get your official time online here!)

This race is Lawder’s third straight overall Free the Science 5K win. His first victory was during our Orlando meeting, followed by our meeting in Cancun.

“I’m hoping to go the the Phoenix meeting so I can defend my title,” said Lawder.


Cancun was my second meeting. What I’ve noticed so far is how giving everyone is. Total strangers, some very important ones, have been more than willing to share their science or help me understand the inner-workings of the Society. The meetings feel like safe places where I can ask stupid questions and be vulnerable. Which, they say, is the birthplace of innovation, creativity and change. (After you’ve read the highlights, go watch Brene Brown’s TED Talk  on The Power of Vulnerability. She has the research!)

Over 2,000 people attended the 2014 ECS and SMEQ Joint International Meeting in Cancun, Mexico. This was ECS’s first return visit to Cancun since 2006. Participants could choose among 51 symposia and 2,299 presentations.

(Look for photos on Facebook.)

Electrochemical Energy and Water Summit

Brainstorming breakout session at the Electrochemical Water and Energy Summit

Brainstorming breakout session at the Electrochemical Water and Energy Summit

In its first “Science for Solving Society’s Problems Challenge,” ECS partnered with the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation to leverage the brainpower of the many scientists in electrochemistry and solid state science and technology that regularly attend ECS meetings. The four grantees were identified during a multi-day workshop. Over 100 researchers were guided through a brainstorming and working group session with the theme of improving access to clean water and sanitation in developing countries. The winners: