HTMWhat was once known as the High Temperature Materials (HTM) Division of The Electrochemical Society has undergone a name change. It will now be known as the High-Temperature Energy, Materials, & Processes Division (H-TEMP). The ECS Board of Directors recently approved this name change at the 233rd ECS Meeting, effective immediately.  H-TEMP includes topical interest areas such as fuel cells, electrolyzers, and energy conversion.

For several years, there has been an ongoing debate within the HTM Division about whether the name adequately represents the topical research areas, materials, and division activities such as organizing long running successful symposia, which are primarily centered around high temperature electrochemical energy conversion and storage science and technology that HTM has been heavily engaged in for the past several decades.


HTMThe ECS HTM Division is currently accepting nominations for the following award:

HTM Outstanding Achievement Award was established in 1984 to recognize excellence in high temperature materials research and outstanding technical contributions to the field of high temperature materials science. The award consists of a framed certificate, a $1,000 prize and complimentary meeting registration. The 2018 recipient is required to attend the 234th ECS biannual meeting (AiMES) in Cancun, Mexico in October of next year to receive the award and to give a lecture to the HTM division. The recipient is eligible for up to $1,000 toward travel expenses to facilitate attendance.

In 2016, Harlan Anderson won the award and presented the talk, “A Country Boy Finds Materials Science.”

Please review the award rules carefully before completing the application.

ECS recognizes outstanding technical achievements in electrochemistry and solid state science and technology through its Honors & Awards program. There are many deserving members of the High Temperature Materials Division among us and this is an opportunity to highlight their contributions.

Application Deadline: January 1, 2018

Posted in Awards