2016 ECS Outstanding Student Chapter

Congratulations to the University of South Carolina for being named ECS’s Outstanding Student Chapter of 2016!

University of South Carolina Award Application

Members of the University of South Carolina Student Chapter with Dr. Thomas F. Fuller

The award, consisting of a recognition plaque, $1,000 toward student chapter funding, and chapter recognition in Interface, will be presented to the University of South Carolina at PRiME 2016 in Honolulu, Hawaii.

The Outstanding Student Chapter Award was established in 2012 to recognize distinguished student chapters that demonstrate active participation in The Electrochemical Society’s technical activities, establish community and outreach activities in the areas of electrochemical and solid state science and engineering education, and create and maintain a robust membership base.

Approved for formation in 2010, the University of South Carolina has since developed into one of ECS’s proudest and most exemplary student chapters.

This past year, the University of South Carolina distinguished itself from the other chapters in the our competitive award applicant pool by exhibiting an unmatched level of dedication to the mission of ECS. The chapter consistently demonstrated an inspiring degree of enthusiasm for electrochemical and solid state science and engineering education, going to great lengths to channel its passion into community engagement.

The chapter’s most significant achievements include:

  • Regularly hosting visits and talks by esteemed figures in ECS’s fields of interest
  • Organizing a student symposium before each ECS meeting
  • Conducting valuable outreach activities on high school and college levels
  • Facilitating work on an impressive number of presentations and journal publications
  • Furthering and spreading community awareness of ECS’s mission

ECS would also like to congratulate the 2016 Chapters of Excellence:


The University of Maryland


The University of Kentucky







These chapters will receive recognition certificates as well as recognition in Interface.

Thank you to our award committee reviewers: Bill Mustain, Uros Cvelbar, and John Staser

Congratulations to all three award winners!

Want to learn more about this award and how to apply? Click here for complete rules and nomination requirements. For questions or additional information, please contact awards@electrochem.org.


All content provided in the ECS blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.

Post Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *