2023 Class of Fellows of The Electrochemical Society Named

The Electrochemical Society (ECS) named 15 new members to the 2023 Class of ECS Fellows. The designation “Fellow of The Electrochemical Society” was established in 1989 for advanced individual technological contributions to the fields of electrochemistry and solid state science and technology, and for service to the Society. Fellows are recognized for scientific achievements, leadership, and active participation in the affairs of ECS. Each year, their peers choose up to 15 renowned scientists and engineers for this honor.

The 2023 ECS Fellows are (listed alphabetically):

  • Martin Bazant Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Jeffrey Blackburn, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
  • Teruhisa Horita, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)
  • Ajit Khosla, Xidian University and Yamagata University
  • Po-Tsun Liu, National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University (NYCU)
  • Robert Mantz, Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering (OUSD (R&E)
  • Nazario Martin, University Complutense and IMDEA-Nanoscience Institute
  • John Muldoon, Toyota Research Institute of North America (TRINA)
  • Mikael Östling, KTH, Royal Institute of Technology
  • Bryan Pivovar, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
  • Minhua Shao, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST)
  • Peter Strasser, Technical University Berlin
  • Alice Suroviec, Berry College
  • Chunsheng Wang, University of Maryland
  • Bilge Yildiz, Massachusetts Institute of Technology



All content provided in the ECS blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.