Call for Nominations – 2021 ECS Canada Section W. Lash Miller Award

Application Deadline: December 31, 2020

The Canada Section is accepting nominations for the Canada Section W. Lash Miller Award. Established in 1967, the $1,000 CAD award recognizes publications and/or excellence in the field of electrochemical science and technology and/or solid state science and technology. Nominees must be Canadian residents who received their last advanced degree no more than 15 years before the year of the award.

W. Lash Miller

About W. Lash Miller

The eminent Canadian chemist William Lash Miller is best known as one of the first North American proponents of Josiah Willard Gibbs’ theories of thermodynamics. Miller first became acquainted with the subject in Wilhelm Ostwald’s laboratory in Germany. The head of the chemistry department at the University of Toronto for sixteen years, Miller was named Commander of the British Empire in 1935. An active ECS member, Miller served as the Society’s president from 1912-1913.

Visit the award page for a full description and list of notable past recipients.


All content provided in the ECS blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.