Call for Nominations: ECS Corrosion Division Awards 2020

Corrosion Divison

The ECS Corrosion Division is currently accepting nominations for the following two awards:

Corrosion Division Morris Cohen Graduate Student Award: established in 1991 to recognize and reward outstanding graduate research in the field of corrosion science and/or engineering. The award consists of a framed scroll and $1,000 prize. The award, for outstanding Masters or PhD work, is open to graduate students who have successfully completed all the requirements for their degrees as testified to by the student’s advisor, within a period of two years prior to the nomination submission deadline.

About Morris Cohen
A Canada native, Morris Cohen was a renowned expert in the field of electrochemistry and corrosion science. During a distinguished career at the National Research Council of Canada that spanned nearly 40 years, he authored more than 100 scientific papers and advised 24 post-doctoral fellows who have distinguished themselves in research. Dr. Cohen was an active ECS member as a Divisional Editor and organizer of the Second International Symposium on Passivity in Toronto in 1962.

Herbert H. Uhlig Award: established in 1972 to recognize excellence in corrosion research and outstanding technical contributions to the field of corrosion science and technology. The award consists of $1,500 and a framed scroll. The recipient is eligible for travel reimbursement in order to attend the Society meeting at which the award is presented.

About H. H. Uhlig
Professor Herbert H. Uhlig was head of the Corrosion Laboratory, teacher, and graduate advisor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) for over thirty years. He authored hundreds of publications on the subjects of passivity, pitting, stress corrosion cracking, corrosion fatigue, and the oxidation of metals. Through the application of basic first principles to his research on corrosion phenomena, he is widely recognized as being one of the leaders responsible for establishing the field of corrosion science on a firm fundamental basis. Uhlig was an active ECS member and served as president from 1955-1956.

Application Deadline: December 15, 2020

Apply Now!



All content provided in the ECS blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.