Europe Section Gerischer Award 2019 Nominations

Nomination Deadline: September 30, 2018

The ECS Honors and Awards Program promotes technical achievements in electrochemistry and solid state science and technology. The program also recognizes exceptional service to the Society. Recognition opportunities exist in the following categories: Society awards, division awards and section awards.

Nominations are sought for an individual or a small group of individuals (no more than 3) who have made an outstanding contribution to the science of semiconductor electrochemistry and photoelectrochemistry including the underlying areas of physical and materials chemistry of significance to this field as next winner(s) of the ECS Europe Section Gerischer Award.

The award consists of a commemorative plaque and a prize of EUR 2000. If required, financial assistance will be provided for non-reimbursed travel expenses incurred to receive the award (not to exceed EUR 1000).

Nominations can be made by a single scientist or a group of scientists. Self-nomination is not permitted. The nomination package shall include the following documents:

  • a letter of nomination highlighting the nominee’s contributions to the field(s) outlined above,
  • a CV and list of publications,
  • copies of the nominee’s four most important papers (or patents),
  • letters of support (up to five) from scientists in the field.

The 2017 winner of the Gerischer Award was Kazuhito Hashimoto who is president of the National Institute for Materials Science.

Nominate a colleague today!


All content provided in the ECS blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.

Post Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *