Physical and Analytical Electrochemistry Division David C. Grahame Award

The Physical and Analytical Electrochemistry Division David C. Grahame Award was created in 1981 to encourage excellence in physical electrochemistry research and to stimulate publication of high quality research papers in the Journal of The Electrochemical Society.

Nomination Period: October 15, odd years – January 15, even years
Presented: Spring meeting, odd years

Recipient qualifications

The recipient will be a currently active ECS Member who have made some recent outstanding scientific contribution to physical electrochemistry. For the purpose of this award, “currently active” is to be measured by publication of more than one paper in the Journal and attendance at more than one Society meeting, as a member of the Society, within the previous five years.

Unsuccessful nominations will be considered for one additional award cycle. Re-nomination is permitted.


The award consists of a scroll, and a US $1,500 prize. The recipient is required to attend the Society meeting at which the award is given and present a lecture in the general session of, or a division sponsored symposium. In the event that the award is made jointly to two or more co-recipients, each co-recipient will receive a scroll and a check for an amount to be decided by PAED.

About David C. Grahame

David C. Grahame was a pioneering American physical chemist and professor at Amherst College. He is well known for his ground-breaking paper entitled “The Electrical Double Layer and the Theory of Electrocapillarity” of 1947 which outlined the fundamental principles that govern electrical double layer formation at metal-solution interfaces.


Keith Stevenson
Bruce Parkinson
Shelley Minteer
Viola Birss
Hubert Gasteiger
Richard L. McCreery
Masatoshi Osawa
Héctor D. Abruña
J. T. Hupp
H. White
A. Wieckowski
D. A. Scherson

P. N. Ross, Jr.
D. M. Kolb
R. M. Wightman
A. T. Hubbard
B. Miller
M. J. Weaver
A. Heller
J. Newman
F. C. Anson