ECS Battery Division recognizes 2022 Student Research Award Winners

Congratulations to John Holoubek, University of California, San Diego, and Singyuk Hou, University of Maryland, College Park, the 2022 ECS Battery Division Student Research Award winners. Holoubek and Hou presented their award talks at the 242nd ECS Meeting in Atlanta, GA, where they received the awards from Y. Shirley Meng and Brett Lucht. 

Singyuk Hou
University of Maryland, College Park
A03-0211 Energy Storage with the Abundant Divalent Metal Batteries

Singyuk Hou’s academic career has focused on the research of electrolytes and interfaces for metal anodes. After completing her BS and MS in Chemistry, she started her PhD under the supervision of Professor Chunsheng Wang at the University of Maryland, College Park. Her PhD research is on the molecule-level control of the solvation structure using chelants that promote the charge transfer kinetics of magnesium and calcium metal batteries. It also extends to SEI engineering for high-energy lithium-ion and lithium metal batteries by developing novel electrolyte systems. She has published more than 50 peer-reviewed papers and co-authored four patents.

John Holoubek
University of California, San Diego
A03-0212 The Role of Ion Solvation in Reduced Temperature Li Metal Batteries

John Holoubek is a PhD candidate and NASA Graduate Fellow at the University of California, San Diego under the supervision of Professors Zheng Chen and Ping Liu. He works on understanding the impact of electrolyte chemistry and structure on battery performance, primarily at reduced temperatures. This research integrates experimental investigation and computational modeling to connect variance in electrochemical behavior to molecular phenomena at the electrode/electrolyte interphase. The primary technological motivation is to improve the kinetic behavior of high-energy battery chemistries with an emphasis on the Li metal anode. Holoubek has also contributed to research in lithium-ion, aqueous, and dual-ion batteries.

Battery Division Student Research Award Sponsored by Mercedes-Benz Research & Development

The Battery Division Student Research Award was established in 1979 to recognize promising young engineers and scientists in the field of electrochemical power sources. The awards are intended to encourage recipients to initiate or continue careers in the field. The award consists of a scroll, USD $1,000 prize, complimentary student meeting registration, and up to USD $1,000 for travel expenses to attend the meeting.

Nominations for the 2023 Battery Division Student Research Award Sponsored by Mercedes-Benz Research & Development are accepted through March 15, 2023. Visit the award webpage to learn more about the award and submit your nomination.

ECS Honors & Awards Program

The Society recognizes outstanding technical achievements in electrochemistry and solid state science and technology through the Honors & Awards Program. These awards are an opportunity to highlight the contributions of the many deserving members of our scientific community


All content provided in the ECS blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.