ECS Toyota 2018-2019 Fellowship Winners Announced

The ECS Toyota Young Investigator Fellowship, a partnership between The Electrochemical Society and Toyota Research Institute of North America, a division of Toyota Motor North America, is in its fourth year. The fellowship aims to encourage young professors and scholars to pursue research in green energy technology that may promote the development of next-generation vehicles capable of utilizing alternative fuels.

2018-2019 ECS Toyota Young Investigator Fellows

Professor Kimberly See
, California Institute of Technology
ECS Battery Division
“Structural Distortions in Multi-Electron Cathodes for High Capacity Batteries”

Professor Iryna Zenyuk
, University of California, Irvine
ECS Energy Technology Division
“Addressing the Activation Overpotential in Fuel Cell Cathodes”

Electrochemical research has already informed the development and improvement of innovative batteries, electrocatalysts, photovoltaics, and fuel cells. Through this fellowship, ECS and Toyota hope to see further innovative and unconventional technologies borne from electrochemical research.

The ECS Toyota Young Investigator Fellowship Selection Committee has chosen two recipients to receive the 2018-2019 fellowship awards for projects in green energy technology. The awardees are Prof. Kimberly See, California Institute of Technology, and Prof. Iryna Zenyuk, University of California, Irvine.

The selected fellows will receive restricted grants of $50,000 to conduct the research outlined in their proposals within one year. They will also receive a one-year complimentary ECS membership as well as the opportunity to present and/or publish their research with ECS.

The ECS Toyota Young Investigator Fellowship is an annual program, and the 2019-2020 request for proposals will be released in the fall of 2018.

Special thanks to the 2018-2019 selection committee:

Dr. John Muldoon, Toyota Research Institute of North America, Chair
Dr. Koji Suto, Toyota Research Institute of North America
Dr. Tomoyuki Nagai, Toyota Research Institute of North America
Dr. Tim Arthur, Toyota Research Institute of North America
Dr. John T. Vaughey, Argonne National Laboratory, ECS Battery Division
Prof. Peter Pintauro, Vanderbilt University, ECS Energy Technology Division
Prof. Brian McCloskey, University of California, Berkeley, ECS Battery Division


All content provided in the ECS blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.

Post Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *