PRiME 2020 General Student Poster Award Winners

The ECS General Student Poster Session Awards were established in 1993 to acknowledge the excellence of students’ work. The winners’ posters display their understanding of research topics in fields of interest to the Society.

This year, 243 students submitted posters for the PRiME 2020 General Student Poster Session. Of them, three student posters stood out above the rest. The recipients of the PRiME 2020 Z01 General Student Poster Session’s best poster awards are:

1st Place – $1,500 cash award
Jong Hwa Kim
Poster # 142359
Feasibility of LiNbO3 Surface Coating on High-Ni Layered Cathode Materials for Lithium Ion Batteries
Kim received BS in Advanced Materials Engineering for Information and Electronics from Kyung Hee University, Republic of Korea, in 2019. He is pursuing his MS under the guidance of Professor Min-Sik Park at the same university. Kim’s research focuses on improving the performance of cathode materials for lithium ion batteries.

2nd Place – $1,000 cash award
Ryota Takai
Poster # 140261
Molybdenum Electroplating Using Concentrated Chloride Aqueous Solution
Takai is working towards his MS in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Kyoto University. He received his BS in engineering there in 2019. Takei has been studying electrochemical phenomena in concentrated aqueous solutions and is currently working on the electroplating of molybdenum using a concentrated chloride aqueous solution. His graduation thesis is titled “Electrochemical etching of Al alloys using water-in-salt.”

3rd Place – $500 cash award
Yuya Takekuma
Poster # 140957
Increased Light Harvesting in Photosystem 1-Based Biophotovoltaics with Artificial Antenna
Currently a PhD student at the Tokyo University of Science, Takekuma is advised by Prof. Morio Nagata. He is also a research fellow at the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science. Takekuma’s research focuses on dye-sensitized solar cells and biophotovoltaics. He received his BS and MS in engineering from the Tokyo University of Science.

To be eligible for the general student poster session awards, students must submit their abstracts to the Z01 General Student Poster Session symposium and present their posters at the ECS biannual meeting. Learn more about the general student poster session.

ECS thanks the following individuals who served as judges for the PRiME 2020 Z01 General Student Poster Session:



Dr. Alice Suroviec

Berry College

Dr. Adriana Ispas

Technische Universität Dresden

Prof. Colm O’Dwyer

University College Cork

Prof. Chengcheng Fang

Michigan State University

Prof. Dr. Feng Lin

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Prof. Futoshi Matsumoto

Kanagawa University

Dr. Sadagopan Krishnan

Oklahoma State University

Dr. Masanori Hara

Toyota Technological Institute

Dr. Andrew C. Hillier

Iowa State University

Dr. Hisakage Funabashi

Hiroshima University

Prof. Yoshinao Hoshi

Nagoya Institute of Technology

Prof. Dr. Hiroshi Imahori

Kyoto University

Prof. Dr. Shinsuke Inagi

Tokyo Institute of Technology

Dr. Etsuro Iwama

Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology

Prof. Yoshiyuki Kuroda

Yokohama National University

Dr. Masanobu Matsuguchi

Ehime University

Dr. Masanori Hayase

Tokyo University of Science

Prof. Dr. Masatsugu Morimitsu

Doshisha University

Kohei Miyazaki

Kyoto University

Prof. Kazuyoshi Ogasawara

Kwansei Gakuin University

Dr. Azusa Ooi

Tokyo Institute of Technology

Dr. Yuji Okuyama

University of Miyazaki

Dr. Petr Vanysek

Northern Illinois University

Dr. Michelle A. Rasmussen

Lebanon Valley College

Dr. Shinji Nohara

University of Yamanashi

Prof. Dr. Soshi Shiraishi

Gunma University

Prof. Hitoshi Takamura

Tohoku University

Prof. Dr. Tetsu Tatsuma

University of Tokyo

Prof. Dr. Toshiki Nokami

Tottori University

Prof. Tsuyoshi Tanaka

Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology

Prof. Tetsuya Tsuda

Osaka University

Prof. Vito Di Noto

Università degli Studi di Padova

Dr. Wu Xu

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Prof. Yong-Tae Kim

Pohang University of Science and Technology

Prof. Taeeun Yim

Incheon National University


Review all the Z01 Posters in the online program.

Be sure to visit the PRiME 2020 Best Poster and Presentation Winners.


All content provided in the ECS blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.