235th ECS Meeting Topic Close-up: Heterogeneous Functional Materials for Energy Conversion and Storage 2

Deadline for Submitting Abstracts
December 28, 2018
Submit today!

Topic Close-up #3

Symposium I05: Heterogeneous Functional Materials for Energy Conversion and Storage 2

Symposium focus: This symposium will focus on the science that controls emergent properties in heterogeneous functional materials as a foundation for the design of functional material devices with performance not bounded by constituent properties.

Providing a unique venue for both contributed and invited speakers to present the latest advances in novel modeling approaches, advanced 3-D imaging and characterization techniques, novel material synthesis and manufacturing methods to create highly ordered material structure, and applications of heterogeneous functional materials in devices for energy conversion and storage.

This symposium especially encourages and welcomes contributed presentations.

Confirmed invited speakers include:

Novel Characterization, Simulation, and Synthesis Methods
C. Barry Carter, University of Connecticut
Y.-c. Karen Chen-Wiegart, Stony Brook University
Stephen Cronin, University of Southern California
Wah-Keat Lee, Brookhaven National Laboratory
Wilhelm Meulenberg, Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH
Johanna Nelson Weker, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Xiaoqing Pan, University of California, Irvine
Peter Pintauro, Vanderbilt University
Ken Reifsnider, University of Texas-Arlington
Robert Walker, Montana State University
Iryna V. Zenyuk, Tufts University

Fuel Cells and Electrolyzers
Scott Barnett, Northwestern University
EunAe Cho, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Deryn Chu, Army Research Laboratory
Anne Co, Ohio State University
Vito Di Noto, University of Padova
Thomas Fuller, Georgia Institute of Technology
WooChul Jung, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Paul Kohl, Georgia Institute of Technology
Ahmet Kusoglu, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Matthew Mench, University of Tennessee-Knoxville
William Mustain, University of South Carolina
Stephen Paddison, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Jin Suntivich, Cornell University
John Varcoe, University of Surrey
Eric Wachsman, University of Maryland, College Park
Boon Siang Yeo, National University of Singapore
Xiao-Dong Zhou, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Richard Jow, Army Research Laboratory
Nian Liu, Georgia Institute of Technology
Shirley Meng, University of California San Diego
Debra Rolison, U. S. Naval Research Laboratory
Nianqiang (Nick) Wu, West Virginia University
Yan Yao, University of Houston

A focused issue “Heterogeneous Functional Materials for Energy Conversion and Storage” is also being planned for authors to publish their work in the Journal of the Electrochemical Society.

Symposium organizers: Wilson Chiu, University of Connecticut; Fanglin (Frank) Chen, University of South Carolina; Deryn Chu, US Army Research Laboratory; Srikanth Gopalan, Boston University; Torsten Markus, Mannheim University of Applied Sciences; Patrick J. Masset, Thermallium Ltd.; Robert A. Mantz, United States Army Research Office; Steven C. DeCaluwe, Colorado School of Mines; Vito Di Noto, Universita’ degli Studi di Padova; N. Liu, Georgia Institute of Technology; Andy M. Herring, Colorado School of Mines.

Financial support from a symposium grant from the Army Research Office (award number W911NF-17-1-0551), and the H-TEMP, BATT, and PAE divisions are gratefully acknowledged.

Related Post

Related Post


All content provided in the ECS Redcat blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.

Post Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *