About IMCS

IMCS – The International Meeting on Chemical Sensors

Founded in 1983 in Fukuoka, Japan, the International Meeting on Chemical Sensors (IMCS) is the world’s largest and most-renowned conference in the scientific area of chemical and biochemical sensors. Held every two years, IMCS is the interdisciplinary forum for all aspects of innovative sensor research and technology. This conference provides an excellent opportunity to network with leaders in the field and companies commercializing chemical and biochemical sensors for the environment, medical, healthcare, industry, and food safety applications.

It is the mission of IMCS to:

  • Be an interdisciplinary forum in the field of chemical sensors that includes physics, chemistry, materials science, and engineering disciplines (including biomedical engineering);
  • Boost research and application in the field of chemical sensors;
  • Be an international platform for discussion and exchange between experienced researchers and younger students;
  • Bring advanced science in close contact to market needs.

Please visit https://www.imcs-conferences.org/ for more information on future IMCS conferences.

Executive Steering Committee
Peter Lieberzeit, Chair
Ralf Moos, Past Chair
Peter Hesketh, Current Meeting Chair
Yasuhiro Shimizu, Asia/Pacific Chair
Jong-Heun Lee, Asia/Pacific
Steve Semancik, Americas Chair
Kevin Johnson, Americas
Udo Weimar, Europe/Africa Chair
Giorgio Sberveglieri, Europe/Africa

Americas Members of the Steering Committee
Sheikh A. Akbar, Guido M. Berlin, Peter Hesketh, Kevin Johnson, Muthukumaran Packirisamy, Joseph Stetter

Asia/Pacific Members of the Steering Committee
Hyung-Gi Byun, Geyu Lu, Osamu Niwa, Hiroaki Suzuki, Zi-Long Tang, Wojtek Wlodarski

Europe/Africa Members of the Steering Committee
Zbigniew Brzozka, Julian W. Gardner, Juan Ramón Morante, Roberto Paolesse, Jean-Paul Viricelle

Honorary Members of the Steering Committee
Noboru Yamazoe

Organizing Committee
Sheikh Akbar, Ohio State University, U.S.
Farrokh Ayazi, Georgia Institute of Technology, U.S.
Shekhar Bhansali, Florida International University, U.S.
Vimal H. Chaitanya, New Mexico State University, U.S.
Aicheng Chen, University of Guelph, Canada
Pengyu Chen, Auburn University, U.S.
Bryan Chin, Auburn University, U.S.
Jin-Woo Choi, Louisiana State University, U.S.
David E. Cliffel, Vanderbilt University, U.S.
Uros Cvelbar, Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia
Lili Deligianni, U.S.
Zhifeng Ding, University of Western Ontario, Canada
Angela M. Ervin, Department of Homeland Security, Science and Technology Directorate, U.S.
Ingrid Fritsch, University of Arkansas, U.S.
Perena Gouma, The Ohio State University, U.S.
Peter J. Hesketh, Georgia Institute of Technology, U.S.
Wei-Hua Huang, Wuhan University, China
Xing-Jiu Huang, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Gary Hunter, NASA Glenn Research Center, U.S.
Jian-hui Jiang, Hunan University, China
Kevin Johnson, Naval Research Laboratory, U.S.
Bianca Kovalenko, The Electrochemical Society, U.S.
Ajit Khosla, Yamagata University, Japan
Dong-joo Kim, Auburn University, U.S.
Jessica Koehne, NASA Ames Research Center, U.S.
Sadagopan Krishnan, Oklahoma State University, U.S.
John Lewis, The Electrochemical Society, U.S.
Chenzhong Li, Florida International University, U.S.
Marc Madou, University of California, Irvine, U.S.
Sushanta Mitra, University of Waterloo, Canada
Rangachary Mukundan, Los Alamos National Laboratory, U.S.
Nosang Vincent Myung, University of California, Riverside, U.S.
Larry Nagahara, Johns Hopkins University, U.S.
Yaw Obeng, National Institute of Standards and Technology, U.S.
Muthukumaran Packirisamy, Concordia University, Canada
Radislav Potyrailo, GE Global Research, U.S.
Raluca van Staden, Politehnica University of Bucharest, Romania
Ramaraja P Ramasamy, University of Georgia, U.S.
Ian Papautsky, University of Illinois at Chicago, U.S.
Praveen Kumar Sekhar, Washington State University, U.S.
Steve Semancik, National Institute of Standards and Technology, U.S.
Leyla Soleymani, McMaster University, Canada
Cheryl Stetter, KWJ Engineering, Inc., U.S.
Joseph R. Stetter, KWJ Engineering, Inc., U.S.
Loh-kun Tsui, University of New Mexico, U.S.
Thomas Thundat, University of Buffalo, U.S.
Petr Vanysek, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic
Giovanni Valenti, Università di Bologna, Italy
Eric Vogel, Georgia Institute of Technology, U.S.
Joseph Wang, University of California San Diego, U.S.
Nick Wu, University of Massachusetts Amherst, U.S.
Wenzhuo Wu, Purdue University, U.S.
Guobao Xu, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Xiangqun Zeng, Oakland University, U.S.
Jing Zhao, University of Connecticut, U.S.
Hong Susan Zhou, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, U.S.