Aicheng Chen Receives 2020 Canada Section R. C. Jacobsen Award

Congratulations to Aicheng Chen, the 2020 Canada Section R. C. Jacobsen Award recipient!

Dr. Aicheng Chen is Professor of Chemistry, Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Electrochemistry and Nanoscience, and Director of the Electrochemical Technology Centre (ETC) at the University of Guelph, Canada. He received his MSc from Xiamen University, China, under the supervision of Prof. S.-G. Sun, and his PhD from the University of Guelph in 1998 under the direction of Prof. J. Lipkowski. After working in the chemical industry as Research Scientist and Electrochemical Specialist for four years, Chen joined Lakehead University, Canada, as Assistant Professor in 2002. He was promoted to Associate Professor in 2005, Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in 2006, and Professor in 2010. He received a Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Senior Fellowship in 2006 to work with Prof. B. Ohtani at Hokkaido University, Japan. During his 2008 sabbatical, Dr. Chen worked with Prof. R. Compton as a visiting scholar at Oxford University, England. He joined the University of Guelph in 2017.

Since receiving the 1997 Student Award of the Electrochemical Society (ECS) Canadian Section, Dr. Chen has been an active ECS member. He served the Canada section as Executive Committee Member-At-Large (2002–2006), Secretary (2006–2007), Vice Chair – Programs (2007–2008), Vice Chair – Members (2008–2009), Chair (2009–2010), Past Chair (2010–2011), and Councilor (2011–present). As faculty advisor and ETC Director, he facilitated establishing the ECS Guelph Student Chapter in 2018. Dr. Chen was a local organizing committee member of the 2017 International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE)’s 58th Annual Meeting; Canada Regional Representative (2010–2012); and Chair of the 2014 15th ISE Topic Meeting. Prof. Chen has been Guest Editor of the Journal of The Electrochemical Society, Associate Editor of the Canadian Journal of Chemistry, and Editor of Electrochimica Acta.

In recognition of his accomplishments, Prof. Chen has received numerous awards including the ECS Canada Section Lash Miller Award, Fellow of the Chemical Institute of Canada, Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK), and Fellow of the International Society of Electrochemistry.

The Canada Section R. C. Jacobsen Award was established in 1986 to recognize notable and significant contributions to the functioning of the ECS Canadian Section. The award prize consists of a framed certificate.


All content provided in the ECS blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.