The 242nd ECS Meeting marks The Electrochemical Society’s second successful in-person meeting since the pandemic. That means five days of reconnecting, networking, learning, and engaging with the ECS community. These special moments were captured throughout the meeting; we’re delighted to share them with you! Click the link below to access professional headshots, award talk photos, networking event photos, and more!


Posted in Meetings
(Left to right) Ashley Amalia David and Emmanuel Peprah-Yamoah

(Left to right) Ashley Amalia David and Emmanuel Peprah-Yamoah. Photo credit: Robb Cohen Photography & Video.

Congratulations to Emmanuel Peprah-Yamoah and Ashley Amalia David, winners of the 242nd ECS Meeting Z01 General Student Poster Session Awards. Judges reviewed the 112 posters students submitted in person and digitally. Please take a moment to celebrate all the participants’ excellent work, and of course, Ashley and Emmanuel.


Y. Shirley Meng

Dr. Y. Shirley Meng

The U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Argonne National Laboratory appointed Y. Shirley Meng to be Chief Scientist at the Argonne Collaborative Center for Energy Storage Science (ACCESS) with a joint appointment as a professor at the Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering at The University of Chicago. She assumes the position in January 2022. Dr. Meng joined ECS as a graduate student in 2007 and calls the Society her “professional home.” She is on the Society’s Board of Directors and serves as Chair of the ECS Battery Division. 

“To tackle the climate crisis, sustainable and resilient energy storage is one of the most important technologies humanity needs. I am excited and humbled to take up the role of ACCESS chief scientist. At the same time, as a faculty member of the Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering, I hope to build an innovation ecosystem where we can train the next generation workforce, foster meaningful relations with industry both domestic and international, and make breakthroughs in energy storage technologies in the decade to come,” said Dr. Meng. (more…)

Are you a student working on energy storage and conversion? Join us at the 239th ECS Meeting with the 18th International Meeting on Chemical Sensors (IMCS) for the opportunity to present your research! The special symposium, entitled A04-Battery Student Slam 5, is dedicated to students working on energy storage and energy conversion.

The student slam offers students the opportunity to present flash oral presentations of their work in a 10-minute time slot. All students enrolled at any valid degree-granting institution may submit an abstract describing the presentation. New materials and designs, performance studies, and modeling of all types of batteries, supercapacitors and fuel cells, including aqueous, non-aqueous, polymer electrolytes, solid electrolytes, and flow systems are of particular interest. (more…)

5 Questions with Dr. Nam-Gyu Park

Dr. Nam-Gyu ParkThe PRiME Lecture will take place as an online event on Monday, October 5, 2020, starting at 2000h EDT / Tuesday, October 6, 2020, at 0900h JST & KST. Visit here to register for this event.

Dr. Nam-Gyu Park, Professor and SKKU-Fellow at the School of Chemical Engineering at Sungkyunkwan University, will lead the PRiME 2020 plenary this year as the featured lecturer, presenting his talk, “Perovskite Solar Cells: Past 10 Years and Next 10 Years.”

What’s it all about? Dr. Park, a solid-state perovskite solar cell pioneer, chatted with ECS and shared the message behind his talk, including his work with perovskite solar cells, the materials significance to the science community as a whole, and the future of the promising material. (more…)

Q&A with Dr. Venkat Viswanathan

Venkat Viswanathan

On August 12, 2020, Venkat Viswanathan, Faculty Fellow at the Wilson E. Scott Institute for Energy Innovation and Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Carnegie Mellon Universitypresented his talk on “Autonomous Discovery of Battery Electrolytes with Robotic Experimentation and Machine Learning” via a live webinar presentation.

Dr. Viswanathan’s talk covered the importance of robotic experimentation, machine learning guided design of experiments, and the frontier of remote experimentation.

View Dr. Viswanathan’s webinar presentation, here.

* Note: You must fill out the registration form to view the webinar *

Following the talk, attendees were given the opportunity to ask Dr. Viswanathan questions in a Q&A session, available below. (more…)

StorageX International Symposium

An Online Series on Energy Storage

Sponsored by Stanford’s StorageX Initiative

Join Stanford StorageX for an interactive symposium series on the latest advances and breakthrough research in energy storage. (more…)

StorageX International Symposium

A New Online Series on Energy Storage
Sponsored by Stanford’s StorageX Initiative

Join Stanford StorageX for an interactive symposium series on the latest advances and breakthrough research in energy storage. (more…)

UPDATE: In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, the 11th International Frumkin Symposium on Electrochemistry has been postponed until October 2021 (expectedly October 18-22).

The symposium organizing committee hopes to proceed with the symposium in its originally planned format on this later date.

The symposium website, as well as the registration and abstracts submission engine, will remain fully operational so that previously submitted materials are kept active.

Further announcements will be available on here

Questions? Concerns? Reach out to Mikhail Vorotyntsev via email: (more…)

Francis D’Souza

Francis D’Souza

Dr. Francis D’Souza, Distinguished Research Professor of Chemistry at the University of North Texas (UNT), is one of the most recent recipients of the prestigious Chemical Research Society of India (CRSI) Medal. The award recognizes, promotes, and fosters talent in Chemistry and Chemical Sciences in order to improve the quality of Chemical Education at all levels.

Dr. D’Souza, an ECS member since 1993 and ECS Nanocarbons Division member since 2014, says he is honored to receive recognition from his motherland, in an article by UNT.

“Previous awardees have been from top-rated institutions across the globe. Getting this award while at UNT is something special for me,” says Dr. D’Souza.


  • Page 1 of 22