The Electrochemical Society is pleased to announce that in lieu of IMLB 2020, the IMLB organizing committee has decided to publish papers of invited speakers to the 20th International Meeting on Lithium Batteries in a focus issue of the Journal of The Electrochemical Society (JES) dedicated to this meeting.

IMLB 2020 is the premier international conference on the state of lithium battery science and technology, as well as current and future related battery systems for application in transportation, industry, grid storage, aviation, aerospace, biomedical, and other promising sectors. Planned to convene in Berlin, Germany, the conference was expected to draw more than 1,000 experts, researchers, and company representatives. (more…)

Nominate Experts for New Study

A research strategy for ocean carbon dioxide removal and sequestration

This summer, you may find yourself on the shore’s edge admiring the vastness and beauty of the ocean. There’s a lot going on in there! According to The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, the ocean covers about 70% of the Earth’s surface and buffers a large fraction of anthropogenic CO2 emissions—removing roughly 55% of emitted CO2 naturally. BUT, it may be possible to enhance both the uptake and longer-term sequestration potential of these processes. The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine is looking to do just that and are currently soliciting nominations for individuals to serve on the Committee on A Research Strategy for Ocean Carbon Dioxide Removal and Sequestration. (more…)

The ECS Interface summer issue is now available to read online. Alice Suroviec was guest editor of the magazine which focuses on the Physical and Analytical Electrochemistry Division.

“As a member of the Society, I always look forward to the quarterly arrival of Interface through postal mail. However, due to the impact of the global COVID-19 pandemic, we made the decision to publish the summer 2020 issue in a digital format only. I’m thrilled to give you a first glimpse into our most recent issue,” said Rob Kelly, Interface editor.


Posted in Publications

Finding Our Way Forward, Together

Colm O'DwyerColm O’Dwyer on doing, teaching, and sharing science in 2020

In our series, The ECS Community Adapts and Advances, University College Cork (UCC) Professor of Chemistry Colm O’Dwyer talks about how he, his students, and colleagues are managing research and coursework since Ireland shut down on March 11, 2020. Colm also directs the UCC Applied Nanoscience Group, focused on 3D battery printing, developing new sustainable battery materials, and real-time performance assessments using optics and photonics. Colm volunteers on the ECS Board of Directors, chairs the ECS Electronics and Photonics Division, and previously served on the ECS Interdisciplinary Science and Technology Subcommittee. Like many parents, he is homeschooling his young children while juggling other responsibilities. (more…)

We are pleased to announce the release of the 2019 Annual Report of The Electrochemical Society (ECS).

“2019 was an amazing year for ECS. From new beginnings and partnerships to unprecedented growth in publications and meetings—and longtime ECS members being recognized for ground-breaking achievements—the Society’s vision and mission advanced dramatically through the efforts of our community (volunteers, members, constituents, and staff). The successes of 2019 have positioned the Society to endure the unprecedented challenges of 2020,” said Chris Jannuzzi, ECS Executive Director and CEO.

In the report, you will find:

  • Reports on the expansion of ECS’s community, meetings, publications, and program participants
  • Profiles of ECS’s three 2019 Nobel Laureate members
  • Summaries of ECS’s support for members including fellowships and awards
  • A snapshot of our audited finances and investments in 2019
  • A statement of gratitude for ECS’s diverse supporters


Prof. Aurbach

Registration is free and open to all!

On Friday, June 26, At 700 am PT (1400 GMT), the StorageX International Symposium features JES Technical Editor Prof. Doron Aurbach of Bar Ilan University speaking on “Frontiers in R&D of high energy density rechargeable batteries,” and Dr. Kang Xu, US Army Research Laboratory, presenting “Interphases: what, how and why.”

Learn more and register here!



Reserve your spot! The Canada Section of The Electrochemical Society will hold its Annual General Meeting by Zoom video conference at 1300h (EDT) on July 7, 2020. All ECS Canada Section members are invited to attend. Advanced registration is required.


Join us for the 2020 Annual Society Business Meeting (ASBM) of the Electrochemical Society, taking place on Tuesday, June 30, from 1400-1500h EDT. Due to COVID-19, for the first time in ECS’s history, the ASBM will be hosted virtually. We hope you will be part of this special online event.

Reserve your place at the Annual Society Business Meeting

View meeting agenda and minutes from the 2019 ASBM

Connect with members and colleagues as you share in stewardship of the Society. Learn important updates on the state of ECS—including the latest plans for PRiME 2020—through presentations by President Stefan De Gendt, Treasurer Gessie Brisard, Secretary Marca Doeff, and Executive Director Chris Jannuzzi.

Jerry Woodall on Science and Technology Careers That Matter

In our series, The ECS Community Adapts and Advances, Jerry Woodall shares insights from his long career working in industry and academia. An inventor and scientist, Jerry is best known for developing the first commercially-viable red LEDs used in automobile brake lights and traffic lights, CD/DVD players, TV remote controls, and computer networks. He received the US National Medal of Technology and Innovation for “his pioneering role in the research and development of compound semiconductor materials and devices.” Currently Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of California, Davis (UC Davis), Jerry served as ECS President from 1990-1991. ECS awarded Jerry the Electronics Division Award (1980), Solid State Science and Technology Award (1985), Edward Goodrich Acheson Award (1998), and named him a Fellow of The Electrochemical Society (1992). (more…)

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2020 ECS Georgia Section Outstanding Student Achievement Award for a student pursuing a PhD at a university in Georgia.

The ECS Georgia Section Outstanding Student Achievement Award was established in 2011 to recognize academic accomplishments in any area of science or engineering in which electrochemical and/or solid state science and technology is the central consideration.

To qualify for the award, the nominee must be a student pursuing a PhD at a university in Georgia; nominated by a university faculty member; and a member of ECS at the time of the nomination.


  • Page 2 of 219