IE&EE Division Awards

Nomination Deadline: September 15, 2018

Are you a student of electrochemical engineering and/or applied electrochemistry?  Do you teach or mentor students within these areas?  If the answer is ‘yes’ to either question, then the following information is for you! The ECS Industrial Electrochemistry and Electrochemical Engineering Division invites you to nominate qualified student (s) for the following division awards:


Nomination Deadlines: September 1, 2018

The ECS Energy Technology Division offers three awards annually and now is the time to consider a colleague, friend, mentor or protégé for recognition.


Extended Deadline: August 31, 2018

2015 IEEE NET award winner Katherine Ayers of ProtonOnsite with Venkat Subramanian, past chair of the ECS IEEE Division.

Endowed by the Dow Chemical Company Foundation to recognize significant advances in industrial electrochemistry, the IEEE Division New Electrochemical Technology Award is the only award within the ECS Honors & Awards Program presented to an organization. The purpose of the award is to promote high quality applied electrochemical R&D and is intended to highlight novel electrochemical technology which has been practiced at a commercial scale.

The IEEE NET Award consists of a commemorative plaque (for up to six key contributors). The award will be presented at the IEEE Division business luncheon in spring 2019 and the winners will be asked to present a paper on the technology development during a division sponsored symposium. Recipients may receive travel assistance in order to attend the designated meeting. Organizations are encouraged to self-nominate and reapplication is allowed.


Posted in Awards

PAEDExtended Deadline for Nominations: November 15, 2017

ECS recognizes outstanding technical achievements in electrochemistry and solid state science and technology through its honors and awards program. We are currently accepting nominations for the Physical and Analytical Electrochemistry Division David C. Grahame Award, which was established in 1981 to encourage excellence in physical electrochemistry research and to stimulate publication of high quality research papers in an ECS journal. This award recognizes Society members who have made outstanding contributions to the field and enhanced the scientific stature of the Society by the presentation of well-recognized papers and at Society meetings.

In spring 2017, Viola Birss delivered “Nanoscale Templates and Scaffolds for Electrochemical Device Applications” as the most recent Grahame award recipient, joining a respected group of award-winning scientists.

The award consists of a framed certificate and a $1,500 prize. The recipient is required to attend the requisite Society meeting and present a symposium lecture that will be sponsored by PAED.

Please review the award rules carefully before completing the application.

Posted in Awards

Michael ShurMichael Shur will be awarded the 2016 ECS Electronics and Photonics Division Award at the 229th ECS Meeting in San Diego, CA, May 29-June 2, 2016.

Michael Shur has received degrees from St. Petersburg Electrochemical University and the A. F. Ioffe Institute. Currently, he is the Patricia W. and C. Roberts Professor of Solid State Electronics and the Director of the Broadband Center at the Rensselar Polytechnic Institute. Additionally, Shur is the co-founder and vice president of SET, Inc.

Shur is an ECS Fellow and has been named a Fellow of many other scientific societies, including IEEE, OSA, SPIE, IET, APS, WIF, MRS, and AAAS.

(MORE: Read his award address abstract entitled, “High Power Nitride Based Field Effect Transistors.”)

His many honors and recognitions include the Tibbetts Award for technology commercialization, IEEE Donald Fink Award, IEEE Kirchmayer Award, Gold Medal of Russian Education Ministry, RPI Research Award, and many more. Shur is also a foreign member of the Lithuanian Academy of Sciences.


  • Page 2 of 2
    • 1
    • 2