2022 Annual Society Business Meeting, 241st ECS Meeting, Vancouver, BC, Canada

ECS holds its Annual Society Business Meeting and Luncheon (ASBM) on Tuesday, May 30, at 1200h ET, onsite at the 243rd ECS Meeting in Boston, MA.

Join us for a plated lunch and listen as the Society’s senior leaders review the successes and challenges of 2022 and exciting plans for the coming year!

Tickets, which are required for this event, can be purchased online through your Events page on the ECS website or on site at Customer Service in Registration. (more…)

Botte is President and D’Souza is 3rd Vice President

Thank you to all who voted in the Society’s 2023 Officers Election. We are happy to announce the new officers.

Gerardine Botte
ECS President

ECS 3rd Vice President

Gerardine Botte
Professor and Whitacre Department Chair, Chemical Engineering
Texas Tech University


Francis D’Souza
Regents Professor of Chemistry and Materials Science and Engineering
University of North Texas



Yue Zhang

Yue Zhang

Join us in congratulating Yue Zhang of the University of British Columbia–Okanagan, recipient of the 2023 ECS Canada Section Student Award!

ECS Canada Section Student Award

The award recognizes promising young engineers and scientists in the field of electrochemical power sources in Canada. Recipients are students pursuing PhDs at Canadian universities in any area of science or engineering in which electrochemical science and technology and/or solid state science and technology are the central consideration. Through this award, the section encourages recipients to initiate or continue careers in the field.


The ECS Energy Technology Division election is now open. The division has a great slate of candidates this year with two candidates for division treasurer. Their biographical sketches and statements follow.

ECS division officers serve as volunteers. We urge all ECS Energy Technology members to take part in this important election! Voting is open from April 3 through April 28. Voting instructions and the link to the electronic voting proxy are at the end of the page. (more…)

The following ECS Awards have nomination deadlines from April to June. Click on the links below for further details.

ECS uses an electronic portal for all applications. Review these tips for the best results. Questions or concerns? Contact us; we are here to help.

Society Awards

Linford Award

Henry B. Linford Award for Distinguished Teaching
ECS recognizes excellence in teaching in subject areas of interest to the Society through this award. Winners receive a silver medal and plaque with a bronze replica thereof; USD $2,500; complimentary ECS biannual meeting registration for the award recipient and companion; dinner honoring the recipient; and ECS Life Membership.
Nomination deadline: April 15, 2023

Vittorio de Nora Award

Vittorio de Nora Award in Electrochemical Engineering and Technology Award
Distinguished contributions to the field of electrochemical engineering and technology are acknowledged by this award. It consists of a gold medal; plaque with a bronze replica of the medal; USD $7,500; complimentary meeting registration for the award recipient and companion; dinner honoring the recipient; and ECS Life Membership.
Nomination deadline: April 15, 2023


2023 ECS Society Elections

The following are the biographies and statements of the candidates nominated for the annual ECS officers’ election, which takes place from January 15 through March 15, 2023.

Candidate for President | Candidates for 3d Vice President


2023 ECS Society Election

Voting for the new ECS Society Officers begins on January 13, 2023. We encourage all ECS members to exercise their right to vote. 

Each candidate has a long and distinguished history of service to the Society and the field of electrochemistry. Follow the links below to learn more about the candidates and view their biographies. Then cast your vote for the 2023 ECS officer nominees.

2023 ECS Society Elections


After two years of digital ECS meetings, we returned to in-person meetings in 2022. We especially enjoyed recognizing award recipients in person, including some of our 2020 and 2021 winners.

In 2023, recognize your colleagues’, students’, and fellow researchers’ outstanding achievements and contributions to electrochemistry and solid state science, and exceptional service to the Society, by nominating them for ECS awards!

Please note the following upcoming deadlines and submit applications as soon as possible.

Society Awards

Fellow of The Electrochemical Society
Advanced individual technological contributions in the field of electrochemical and solid state science and technology, and active ECS membership, are recognized by the Fellow designation. The award consists of a framed certificate and ECS Fellow lapel pin.
Nomination deadline: February 1, 2023 (more…)

Mariko KadowakiThe ECS Corrosion Division recognized its 2022 Morris Cohen Student Award winner at the 242nd ECS Meeting in Atlanta, GA. The recipient, Dr. Mariko Kadowaki of the National Institute for Materials Science presented her award talk, “Microscopic Electrochemical Properties of Carbon Steels and Metallurgical Approach for High Corrosion Resistance,” on October 11, 2022.


ETDThe ECS Energy Technology Division recognized the 2022 Energy Technology Division Graduate Student Award Sponsored by BioLogic recipients at the 241st ECS Meeting in Vancouver, BC, Canada. Grace Lindquist of the University of Oregon was acknowledged for outstanding research in the development of robust high-performance alkaline membrane electrolyzer technology; and Zachary Schiffer of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology for developing methods for harnessing renewable ammonia and for understanding energy exchanges in electrochemical transformations.


  • Page 3 of 11