Yaoli Zhao

Yaoli Zhao

The 2023 winner of the ECS Sensor Division Student Research Award is Yaoli Zhao of the University of Buffalo for her contributions to developing a new method for standoff and point detection of chemicals by combining photothermal and photoacoustic effects with microfabricated cantilever beams to simultaneously achieve very high molecular selectivity and very high sensitivity.  She will be recognized at the 245th ECS Meeting in San Francisco, CA, and deliver her award talk there.

Yaoli Zhao is a PhD student working in Thomas Thundat’s University at Buffalo lab, specializing in the field of chemical detection. Her current research focuses on developing innovative standoff detection sensors, specifically for plastic classification. Zhao successfully developed techniques and demonstrated methods for molecular identification of plastics, which resulted in the publication of multiple research papers in refereed journals including one as a corresponding author in the Journal of The Electrochemical Society. (more…)

James Noël, past ECS Corrosion Division Chair, presents award to Sanjay Choudhary.

Join us in congratulating Sanjay Choudhary of the University of Virginia, recipient of the 2023 ECS Corrosion Division Morris Cohen Graduate Student Award! Sanjay presented his award talk at the 244th ECS Meeting in Gothenburg, Sweden.

Sanjay Choudhary
University of Virginia
C01—1082 Evolution of Passivity and Passivity-Breakdown for Cr and Cr-Containing Alloys

Sanjay Choudhary is a Postdoctoral Research Associate with Prof. Robert G. Kelly at the University of Virginia where he studies localized corrosion characteristics of Al-alloys used in aerospace and stainless-steel dry storage containers, by means of in situ transmission electron microscopy and finite element modeling. (more…)

The following ECS Awards have nomination deadlines from December 2023 through February 2024. Click on the links below for further information.

ECS uses an electronic portal for all applications. Review these tips for the best results. Questions or concerns? Contact us; we are here to help. (more…)

Prestigious student awards presented at ECS 244th Meeting

Congratulations to Gustavo Hobold, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and KyuJung Jun, University of California, Berkeley, winners of the 2023 ECS Battery Division Student Research Award Sponsored by Mercedes-Benz Research and Development. Hobold and Jun presented their award talks at the 244th ECS Meeting in Gothenburg, Sweden.

Gustavo Hobold
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
A07—0984   Quantitative SEI-based Descriptors For Li metal Liquid Electrolyte Design

Gustavo M. Hobold is a PhD candidate in Mechanical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), working with Prof. Betar Gallant. His research focuses on developing a quantitative understanding of the functional properties and chemical composition of solid electrolyte interphases (SEI) formed natively on Li anodes. Hobold’s work leverages in situ experiments and high-throughput post-mortem titration-based techniques to precisely quantify the formation of a wide range of SEI phases and decipher capacity loss mechanisms in modern high Coulombic efficiency (CE) electrolytes. Ultimately, his work revealed several quantifiable SEI-based descriptors that can guide future liquid electrolyte discovery, aiming to breach >99.9% CE. Prior to MIT, Gustavo received his Engineering degree and MS in Mechanical Engineering from the Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina.


Congratulations to Sang Cheol Kim and John Petrovick

Sang Cheol Kim of Stanford University has been awarded the 2023 ECS San Francisco Section Daniel Cubicciotti Student Award. John Petrovick of KTH Kungliga Tekniska högskolan has been awarded the Honorable Mention.


Doris Hung

Doris Hung

Sponsored by Thermo Fisher Scientific 

The ECS Pacific Northwest Section is pleased to announce that Chih-Hsuan (Doris) Hung of the University of Washington received the 2023 Pacific Northwest Section Electrochemistry Student Award Sponsored by Thermo Fisher Scientific

The award recognizes Hung’s contributions to modeling, analysis, and design of three-dimensional Lithium ion batteries (LIBs) and her contributions to K-12 education through the development and dissemination of science and engineering educational materials with an emphasis on clean energy and inclusivity. (more…)

Nomination Period: September 1 through February 1

Do you know an ECS member who has advanced individual technological contributions in the field of electrochemical and solid state science and technology and is actively involved in the affairs of The Electrochemical Society? Why not nominate them to receive the prestigious title of Fellow of the Electrochemical Society. Nominations are now being accepted for the 2024 Class of ECS Fellows! (more…)

Voting open from September 1-29

The 2023 election for ECS High-Temperature Energy, Materials, & Processes (H-TEMP) Division officers and members at large takes place via electronic proxy from September 1 through September 29.

We urge all ECS H-TEMP Division members to take part in this important election!

We have a great slate with two candidates for division treasurer. Their biographical sketches and statements follow along with voting instructions. (more…)

ECS Fellow Professor Yury Gogotsi was inducted into the 2022 Class of National Academy of Inventors Fellows at the NAI Annual Meeting from June 25-27, 2023, in Washington, D.C.

Yury Gogotsi

Professor Yury Gogotsi

Since 2012, the National Academy of Inventors, a nonprofit organization founded and dedicated to encouraging academic inventors with U.S. patents, has inducted a yearly class of fellows into the organization. “The NAI Fellows Program was established to highlight academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding invention that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society. Election to NAI Fellow status is the highest professional distinction accorded solely to academic inventors.” (From the NAI Fellows Program website.)

With more than 190 patent applications filed and more than 70 issued patents, over 30 of which have been licensed to industry, Prof. Gogotsi is certainly worthy of this esteemed accolade. He thanks his nominators, co-inventors, and companies that acquired licenses for using his patented carbon and MXene materials and technologies for their support in reaching this honor. (more…)

Congratulations to the 2023 Industrial Electrochemistry and Electrochemical Engineering Division student award winners – Barirav Sabarish Vishnugopi and Lauren Clarke. Keep reading to learn more about the winners! (more…)

  • Page 1 of 10