Battery Division Research Award

Nomination period: October 15 through January 15, annually
Presented: ECS fall meeting, annually

The ECS Battery Division Research Award was established in 1958 to encourage excellence in battery and fuel cell research, and to encourage publication in ECS journals. Although it is not limited to a specific age group, the award’s primary purpose is to develop interest in battery and fuel cell science among younger electrochemists.

The award’s field of interest is “that area of electrochemical knowledge which deals with the mechanisms, theory, materials, and design of devices (primary and secondary cells, and batteries and fuel cells) in which chemical energy can be converted into usable electrical energy by an electrochemical process.”

Eligibility criteria

The award recognizes recent achievements or contributions to the field with potential impact on future research and development. Judgment of the achievement/contribution’s importance and significance is based on the paper(s) where it is reported. As the work’s significance may become clearer with time, papers that appeared up to 10 years prior to May 1 of the award year may be considered.

Candidate(s) requirements:

  • Current membership in The Electrochemical Society;
  • Author or coauthor(s) of a paper or papers, one of which appeared in an ECS publication, reporting the new battery or fuel cell knowledge advances;
  • Paper(s) exhibits a high order of scientific excellence. Factors considered include:
    • Originality of concept and design of experiments;
    • Thoroughness of experimental approach;
    • Theoretical analysis;
    • Logic of conclusions;
    • Clarity of presentation.
Nomination guidelines

A complete nomination packet includes:

  • Electronic nomination form;
  • Cover letter stating research interests and accomplishments;
  • Postdoctoral advisor support letter;
  • Copy of publication(s) describing the science/technology achievement.

Unsuccessful nominations are considered for one additional award cycle.

ECS Battery Division Research Award Committee members may not submit nominations or letters of support during their terms of service.


The award consists of:

  • Framed certificate;
  • USD $2,000;
  • ECS Battery Division membership for as long as the recipient maintains Society membership;
  • Discretionary support for ECS meeting travel expenses.

If the award is given jointly to two or more coauthors, each coauthor receives all the award elements.

Recipient obligations

The award recipient(s) are asked, but not required, to present a lecture to the ECS Battery Division at the Society’s fall meeting when the award is presented.


For more information or questions, contact

Review the Society’s robust Honors & Awards and Fellowships & Grants Programs.


Y. Shirley Meng
Atsuo Yamada
Bor Yann Liaw
Chunsheng Wang
Hubert Gasteiger
Khalil Amine
Kang Xu
Ryoji Kanno
Yang Shao-Horn

Nobuyuki Imanishi
Martin Winter
(2015 )
Arumugam Manthiram
Doron Aurbach
Stefano Passerini
Yang-Kook Sun
Dominique Guyomard

Linda Nazar
Peter G. Bruce
Clare P. Grey
(2007)T. Ohzuku
M. Thackeray
(2005 )
J. Newman
G. Ceder
K. Kinoshita
(2003 )
S. Whittingham
J. Bates
C. Delmas
(1999 )
B. Scrosati
J. Dahn
K. M. Abraham
E. Peled
D. N. Bennion

R. E. White
A. N. Dey
J. Jorne
M. Armand
J. P. Gabano
J. K. Devitt
D. H. McClelland
G. H. J. Broers
D. Pavlov
R. A. Huggins
K. R. Bullock
A. Heller

T. Katan
S. Szpak
J. McBreen
A. C. Simon
S. M. Caulder
Y. Okinaka
D. Tuomi
J. Burbank
C. P. Wales
F. G. Will
T. P. Dirkse
D. M. Smyth
J. J. Lander