We are currently accepting nominations for the prestigious honor of Fellow of the Electrochemical Society. This award was established in 1989 for advanced individual technological contributions in the field of electrochemical and solid state science and technology and for active membership and involvement in the affairs of The Electrochemical Society. The award consists of a scroll, lapel pin, and eternal bragging rights. (more…)

Posted in Awards

Award Sponsored by Mercedes-Benz Research & Development

The ECS Battery Division Student Research Award recognizes promising young engineers and scientists in the field of electrochemical power sources and encourages recipients to initiate or continue careers in the field. Mercedes-Benz Research & Development generously sponsors the award.

Congratulations to the 2020 award winners, Matthias Künzel of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, and Julian Self of the University of California Berkeley. (more…)

New Battery Division Award

ECS Battery Division Early Career Award Sponsored by Neware Technology Limited

The ECS Honors and Awards Program and the ECS Battery Division are pleased to offer the new ECS Battery Division Early Career Award Sponsored by Neware Technology Limited.

The Battery Division recently established this award to encourage excellence among early career researchers in battery and fuel cell research. The primary purpose is to recognize and support the development of talent and future leaders in the field. Neware Technology Limited generously sponsors the award. (more…)

ECS Honors & Awards Program

Upcoming Award Nomination Deadlines – Winter 2021

Society Awards

Fellow of The Electrochemical Society
Recognizes advanced individual technological contributions in the field of electrochemical and solid state science and technology, and active ECS membership. Award includes a certificate and gold lapel pin.
Nomination deadline – February 1, 2021. (more…)

Nominations deadline: January 15, 2021

Nominations are now being accepted for the ECS Organic and Biological Electrochemistry Division (OBE) Manuel M. Baizer Award sponsored by The Electrosynthesis Company, Inc. and Monsanto Company.

The award was established in 1992 to recognize outstanding scientific achievements in the electrochemistry of organics and organometallic compounds, carbon-based polymers and biomass—whether fundamental or applied—and including, but not limited to: (more…)

J. Bruce Wagner, Jr., ECS President (1983-1984)

New nomination deadline: February 1, 2021

The deadline for nominations for the J. Bruce Wagner, Jr. Award has been extended to February 1, 2021. The award was established by the ECS High Temperature Materials Division (H-Temp) in 1998 to recognize a young Society member who has demonstrated exceptional promise for a successful career in science and/or technology in the field of high temperature materials. The award consists of a framed certificate and a $1,000 prize.

Please review the award rules carefully before completing the application. View the list of distinguished past recipients. (more…)

2020 ECS Corrosion Division Morris Cohen Graduate Student Award Goes to Chao Liu

Each year, the ECS Corrosion Division recognizes outstanding academic achievements in corrosion science and/or engineering through the Morris Cohen Graduate Student Award. Congratulations to the 2020 Corrosion Division Morris Cohen Graduate Student Award winner, Chao (Gilbert) Liu of the Shell Technology Center. (more…)

Congratulations to Aicheng Chen, the 2020 Canada Section R. C. Jacobsen Award recipient!

Dr. Aicheng Chen is Professor of Chemistry, Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Electrochemistry and Nanoscience, and Director of the Electrochemical Technology Centre (ETC) at the University of Guelph, Canada. He received his MSc from Xiamen University, China, under the supervision of Prof. S.-G. Sun, and his PhD from the University of Guelph in 1998 under the direction of Prof. J. Lipkowski. After working in the chemical industry as Research Scientist and Electrochemical Specialist for four years, Chen joined Lakehead University, Canada, as Assistant Professor in 2002. He was promoted to Associate Professor in 2005, Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in 2006, and Professor in 2010. He received a Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Senior Fellowship in 2006 to work with Prof. B. Ohtani at Hokkaido University, Japan. During his 2008 sabbatical, Dr. Chen worked with Prof. R. Compton as a visiting scholar at Oxford University, England. He joined the University of Guelph in 2017. (more…)

Application Deadline: December 31, 2020

The Canada Section is accepting nominations for the Canada Section W. Lash Miller Award. Established in 1967, the $1,000 CAD award recognizes publications and/or excellence in the field of electrochemical science and technology and/or solid state science and technology. Nominees must be Canadian residents who received their last advanced degree no more than 15 years before the year of the award. (more…)

Z. Jung Fang and Yamin Zhang receive the 2020 ECS Georgia Section Outstanding Student Achievement Awards

Established in 2011, the Georgia Section Outstanding Student Achievement Award recognizes academic accomplishments in any area of science or engineering in which electrochemical and/or solid state science and technology is the central consideration. To qualify, applicants must be (1) students pursuing PhDs at universities in Georgia, (2) nominated by a university faculty member, and (3) ECS members at the time of nomination. (more…)

  • Page 5 of 25