Honolulu PRiME 2012 - Honolulu, Hawaii

October 7 - October 12, 2012



J4 - Microfabricated and Nanofabricated Systems for MEMS/NEMS 10


Wednesday, October 10, 2012

311, Level 3, Hawaii Convention Center


Co-Chairs: Peter Hesketh and Gary Hunter
TimeProgr#Title and Authors
08:00 Introductory Remarks (5 Minutes)
08:05   3985   Micro-systems and Nanotechnologies in ELISA and Droplet Generation Applications C. Yeh and Y. Lin (National Cheng Kung University)
08:50   3986   A Novel Microdevice for the Treatment of Hydrocephalus J. Oh (Harvard University), F. Kralick, and H. Noh (Drexel University)
09:25   3987   Wafer Scale Processing of Plasmonic Nanopore Arrays in 200mm CMOS Fab Environment K. Malachowski, R. Verbeeck, T. Dupont, C. Chen, S. Musa, Y. Li, T. Stakenborg, D. Sabuncuoglu, and P. Van Dorpe (IMEC Belgium)
09:45 Intermission (15 Minutes)
10:00   3988   Tunable Young's Modulus in Carbon MEMS using Graphene-based Stiffeners C. M. Washburn (Sandia National Laboratories), T. Lambert, J. Blecke, D. Davis, P. Finnegan, B. Hance, and J. Strong (Sandia National Labs)
10:20   3989   Residue-Free Dry Etching of Polymer Sacrificial Layer for Microelectromechanical-System Device Fabrication K. Takagahara, K. Ono, K. Kuwabara, T. Sakata (NTT Microsystem Integration Laboratories), H. Ishii (Toyohashi university of technology), Y. Sato, and Y. Jin (NTT Microsystem Integration Laboratories)
10:40   3990   Low Cost UV Laser Direct Write Photolithography System for Rapid Prototyping of Microsystems J. Waynelovich, A. Sepehri (Black Box Inc), B. Mehta (Black Box Inc.), S. Kassegne (MEMS Lab, San Diego State University), and A. Khosla (Simon Fraser University)
11:00   3991  
The Carbonized SU-8 Elctrospun Nano-Fiber for an Electrode in the Energy Storage Device H. Kim, J. Woo, Y. Joo, Y. Chun, and C. Kim (Chung-Ang University)
11:20   3992   Hydrodynamic Cell Enrichment in Double Spiral Microfluidic Channels J. SUN, M. Li (National Center for Nanoscience and Technology), C. Liu (Institute of Mechanics, Chinese Academy of Sciences), G. Hu (Institute of Mechanics, CAS), and X. Jiang (National Center for Nanoscience and Technology)
11:40   3993   Nanostructured Columnar Thin Films for Biological and Chemical Sensing Applications P. Shah (Universty of Dayton), H. Knachel, A. Sarangan, and K. Hansen (University of Dayton)

Cantilevers and Microdevices

Co-Chairs: Yu Cheng Lin and Hongseok Noh
TimeProgr#Title and Authors
13:30   3994   Thermal Conductivity Engineering via Nano Patterning B. Kim, I. El-Kady, and R. Olsson (Sandia National Laboratories)
14:00   3995   Photothermal Cantilever Deflection Spectroscopy T. Thundat, M. Bagheri, S. Kim, D. Lee (University of Alberta), and S. Jeon (POSTECH, S. Korea)
14:20   3996   Development of Insulated Conductive AFM Probes for Molecular Electronics Y. Wu, T. Akiyama (The Sensors Actuators and Microsystems Laboratory (SAMLAB), Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)), P. D. Van der Wal (EPFL), S. Gautsch (The Sensors Actuators and Microsystems Laboratory (SAMLAB), Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)), and N. De Rooij (EPFL Lausanne)
14:40   3997  
All Thin Film Micromachined Cantilever Using PZT/Terfenol-D Multilayer for High Sensitive Magnetoelectric Sensors D. Lee (Kwangwoon University), S. Kim, Y. Yoo (Korea Institute of Science and Technology), J. Han (Chungnam National University), W. Jo (Cantis Co), and J. Lee (Kwangwoon University)
15:00   3998   Characterization and Response of Metal Organic Frameworks Based Microcantilever Sensors for the Detection of Volatile Organic Compounds I. Ellern (Georgia Institute of Technology)
15:20   3999   Manipulation of Micro Condensed Matter by Direct Peeling Method by using Atomic Force Microscope Tip A. Kawai (Nagaoka University of Technology)
15:40 Intermission (20 Minutes)
16:00   4000   A MEMS-based Platform for Multi-physics Characterization of Ultra-thin Freestanding Films A. Haque (Penn State University)
16:20   4001   Effects of Adsorbate Surface Diffusion in Focused Electron-Beam-Induced-Deposition A. Szkudlarek, M. Gabureac, and I. Utke (Empa Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology)
16:40   4002   Electroplating of Microstructured Nickel Phase Gratings for X-Ray Phase Contrast Tomography M. Amberger, K. Bade, J. Meiser, D. Kunka, and J. Mohr (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT))
17:00   4003   The Defect and Transport Properties of TlBr S. R. Bishop (Kyushu University), G. Ciampi (Radiation Monitoring Devices), M. Kuhn, H. L. Tuller (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), W. Higgins, and K. Shah (Radiation Monitoring Devices)
17:20   4004   Microfabricated Systems to Measure Marine Variables S. Aravamudhan (North Carolina A&T State University)
17:40   4005   Nanoporous Alumina as a Platform for 3-D Ceramic Microdevices D. Routkevitch (InRedox LLC)

Kamehameha Exhibit Hall 3, Level 1, Hawaii Convention Center

J4 - MEMS/NEMS Poster Session

Co-Chairs: Peter Hesketh and Kalpathy Sundaram
TimeProgr#Title and Authors
o   4006   Radiophotoluminescence in Ag+-Doped Phosphate Glass Dosimeter T. Ohno, Y. Miyamoto (Kanazawa Institute of Technology), T. Kurobori (Kanazawa University), Y. Takei, K. Hirasawa (Kanazawa Institute of Technology), T. Yamamoto (Chiyoda Technol Co. Ltd.), and H. Nanto (Kanazawa Institute of Technology)
o   4007   Characterization and Process Optimization of UV Patternable Electrically Conducting SU-8 Silver Nanocomposite Polymer A. Khatri, S. Kassegne (MEMS Lab, San Diego State University), and A. Khosla (Simon Fraser University)
o   4008  
Effects of Added Uranium on the Triboluminescent Properties of EuD4TEA R. Fontenot (Alabama A&M University), W. Hollerman (University of Louisiana at Lafayette), K. Bhat, and M. Aggarwal (Alabama A&M University)
o   4009   Micropatternable, Electrically Conducting Polyaniline Photoresist Blends for MEMS Applications C. Patel, S. Kassegne (MEMS Lab, San Diego State University), and A. Khosla (Simon Fraser University)
o   4010   Micro-Structures for Electrophoretic Display: Case Studies of the Response Speed/Time and Contrast Ratio Depending on Micro-Structures J. Kim, C. Kim, and K. Suh (Electronics and Telecommunications Research Institute)