Focus Issue on Women in Electrochemistry

To celebrate and promote the many achievements of women investigating the myriad aspects of electrochemistry, the Journal of The Electrochemical Society is announcing a focus issue on Women in Electrochemistry, to be published in 2022. The Electrochemical Society (ECS) celebrates the achievements of women researchers from all over the world with the aim of reducing gender inequality in STEM.

The issue is open to research papers and communications reporting new research results, methods papers discussing analytical techniques and standards, review papers looking at the history and development of specific fields, and perspectives on the future of certain areas of research. Showcasing the outstanding work of a growing list of eminent and talented female scientists, it pulls together the entire scope of topical interest areas covered by the Journal of The Electrochemical Society. In addition, the issue will be edited by 50 top female scientists from around the world, with their direct input on the peer-review of each submission.

The sole requirement for submission is that a female researcher is the primary author or co-author responsible for the study reported or opinions expressed. Male co-authors are welcome, as the issue aims to celebrate the diversity of our community, in addition to the important advances being made by women in the sciences.

This virtual issue welcomes submissions in all topical interest areas of the Journal of The Electrochemical Society and papers covering the following topics:

  • Batteries and Energy Storage
  • Corrosion Science and Technology
  • Electrochemical/Electroless Deposition
  • Electrochemical Engineering
  • Fuel Cells, Electrolyzers, and Energy Conversion
  • Organic and Bioelectrochemistry
  • Physical and Analytical Electrochemistry, Electrocatalysis, and Photoelectrochemistry
  • Sensors
  • Historical perspectives of Women in Electrochemistry
  • Challenges and issues faced by women researchers, potential solutions, policy changes, etc.

Accepting Submissions: August 5, 2021 | Submission Deadline: November 3, 2021

 (When submitting, indicate that the paper is intended for the Women in Electrochemistry focus issue)

Visit the ECS website for author submission instructions and requirements of each article type.


Guest Editors

Izumi Kubo, Soka University, Japan | kubo@soka.ac.jp
Yuko Ueno, Chuo University, Japan | yuko.ueno@kc.chuo-u.ac.jp
Lina Sun, Yamagata University, Japan | sunlina@yz.yamagata-u.ac.jp
Sayoko Shironita, Nagaoka University of Technology, Japan | shironita@mst.nagaokaut.ac.jp
Hikari Sakabe, AIST, Japan | hikari.sakaebe@aist.go.jp
Yukari Sato, AIST, Japan | yukari-sato@aist.go.jp
Karolin Jiptner, Yamagata University, Japan | jiptner.karolin@yz.yamagata-u.ac.jp
Bingwei Mao, Xiamen University, China | bwmao@xmu.edu.cn
Xiue Jiang, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China | jiangxiue@ciac.ac.cn
Junying Zhang, Beihang University, China | zjy@buaa.edu.cn
Chaofang Dong, The University of Science and Technology Beijing, China | cfdong@ustb.edu.cn
Pratima Solanki, Jawaharlal Nehru University, India | partima@mail.jnu.ac.in
Chetna Dhand, CSIR-Advanced Materials and Processes Research Institute, India | chetnachem24@gmail.com
Priyanka Sabherwal, University of Bombay, India | Priyanka.sabherwal@nano.mu.ac.in
Sumana Gajjala, National Physical Laboratory, India | gajjalasumana19@gmail.com
Sonu Gandhi, DBT-National Institute of Animal Biotechnology (NIAB), India | gandhi@niab.org.in
Shweta Rana, Panjab University, India | shweta0402@gmail.com
Nirmal Prabhakar, Panjab University, India | nirmalprabhakar@gmail.com
Cecilia de Carvalho Castro e Silva, Universidade Presbiteriana Mackenzie, Brazil | cecilia.silva@mackenzie.br
Elisama Vieira Dos Santos, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil | zamaquimica@gmail.com
Emmanuelle Sá Freitas Feitosa, Universidade Federal do Sul e Sudeste do Pará, Brazil | mmanufreitas@gmail.com
Maiara Oliveira Salles, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil | maiara@iq.ufrj.br
María Escudero Escribano, Københavns Universitet, Denmark | maria.escudero@chem.ku.dk
Christina Bock, National Research Council of Canada, Canada | Christina.Bock@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca
Roya Maboudin, University of California, Berkeley, U.S. | maboudia@berkeley.edu
Simona Badilescu, Concordia University, Canada | simonabadilescu0@gmail.com
Harshini Mukundan, Los Alamos National Laboratory, U.S. | harshini@lanl.gov
Rebecca Schmidt, Sandia National Laboratories, U.S. | Rschmit@sandia.gov
Mieko Hirabayashi, Sandia National Laboratories, U.S. | Mhiraba@sandia.gov
Leyla Soleymani, McMaster University, Canada | soleyml@mcmaster.ca
Bonnie Gray, Simon Fraser University, Canada | bgray@sfu.ca
Jessca Koehne, NASA AMES, U.S. | jessica.e.koehne@nasa.gov
Trisha L. Andrew, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, U.S. | tandrew@umass.edu
Anne Co, Ohio State University, U.S. | co.5@osu.edu
Elizabeth J. Podlaha-Murphy, Clarkson University, U.S. | epodlaha@clarkson.edu
Svitlana Pylypenko, Colorado School of Mines, U.S. | spylypen@mines.edu
Debra Rolison, Naval Research Laboratory, U.S. | rolison@nrl.navy.mil
Mei Shen, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, U.S. | mshen233@illinois.edu
Moran Balaish, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, U.S. | moranb@mit.edu
Ritu Kataky, Durham University, U.K. | ritu.kataky@durham.ac.uk
Raluca-Ioana Stefan-van Staden, Institutul Național de Cercetare-Dezvoltare pentru Electrochimie și Materie Condensată | ralucavanstaden@gmail.com
Antje J. Baeumner, Universität Regensburg, Germany | antje.baeumner@ur.de
Sannakaisa Virtanen, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany | sannakaisa.virtanen@fau.de
Eithne Dempsey, Maynooth University, Ireland | eithne.dempsey@mu.ie
Ingrid Milošev, Institut Jožef Stefan, Slovenia | ingrid.milosev@ijs.si
Tebello Nyokong, Rhodes University, South Africa | t.nyokong@ru.ac.za
Mangaka Matotoe, Cape Peninsula University of Technology, South Africa | matoetoem@cput.ac.za
Guangzhao Mao, University of New South Wales Sydney, Australia | guangzhao.mao@unsw.edu.au
Kamonwad Ngamchuea, Suranaree University of Technology, Thailand | kamonwad@g.sut.ac.th
Chochanon Moonla, Suranaree University of Technology, Thailand | chochanon@g.sut.ac.th

Technical Editor

Ajit Khosla, Yamagata University, Japan | khosla@yz.yamagata-u.ac.jp

Contributing Technical Editors

Doron Aurbach, Bar-Ilan University, Israel | doron.aurbach@biu.ac.il
Gerald S. Frankel, The Ohio State University, U.S. | frankel.10@osu.edu
Takayuki Homma, Waseda University, Japan | t.homma@waseda.jp
John Harb, Brigham Young University, U.S. | john_harb@byu.edu
Xiao-Dong Zhou, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, U.S. | xiao-dong.zhou@louisiana.edu
Janine Mauzeroll, McGill University, Canada | janine.mauzeroll@mcgill.ca
David E. Cliffel, Vanderbilt University, U.S. | d.cliffel@vanderbilt.edu

Associate Editors

Michael Adachi, Simon Fraser University, Canada | mmadachi@sfu.ca
Netz Arroyo, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, U.S. | netzarroyo@jhmi.edu
Thomas Thundat, University at Buffalo, U.S | tgthunda@buffalo.edu

Editor-in-Chief

Robert Savinell, Case Western Reserve University, U.S. | rfs2@case.edu


Articles are published in a standard issue of the journal as they are accepted. If selected at submission, accepted papers are published online in the ECS Digital Library within 24 hours of scheduling for publication. The version of record is published online within approximately 10 days of final acceptance.

OPEN ACCESS: As part of the Author Choice Open Access program, authors can select to publish their papers as open access. If open access is selected at submission and the paper is accepted, the author agrees to pay an article processing charge (APC). ECS members receive a 75 percent discount on APCs. Discounts are applied at the time of payment. Authors from ECS Plus subscribing institutions are eligible for APC waivers. Check if your institution subscribes to ECS Plus. 

DISCLAIMER

All content provided in the ECS blog is for informational purposes only. The opinions and interests expressed here do not necessarily represent ECS's positions or views. ECS makes no representation or warranties about this blog or the accuracy or reliability of the blog. In addition, a link to an outside blog or website does not mean that ECS endorses that blog or website or has responsibility for its content or use.