ECS Logo
ECS Home Page ECS Members Education Awards Students Sponsorship Publications Meetings
Digital Library Home
ECS Journal
ECS Letters
ECS Transactions
ECS Meeting Abstracts
ECS Interface
ECS History Center
Manuscript Submissions
ECS Bookstore
Subscription Info
Copyright Requests
ECS Member Info
Support the Future
Renew Now
Join Now
Career Center
Technical Interest Areas and Divisions
Governance and Committees
Resource Links



Dielectric Science and Technology Division

established April 1945

What is Dielectric Science and Technology

The purpose of the Dielectric Science and Technology Division (DS&T) is to stimulate fundamental research as well as to promote the exchange and publication of information related to all aspects of the science and technology of dielectric materials. Core areas of the Division include the physics, chemistry, materials science, synthesis, characterization, processing, fabrication, manufacturing, and reliability of materials and related applications. Advances in the science and technology of dielectrics depend on an integrated approach to better develop a fundamental comprehensive understanding of the basic properties of materials, the processes used to make them, and their performance and reliability in diverse applications.

Through the years, the materials and processes of interest of the Division membership have evolved from those used for wire coating and capacitor dielectric applications, to traditional dielectric films used in semiconductor devices, to the current unique organic and inorganic conductors, semiconductors and insulators. Some examples include diamond films, polymers, optical/luminescent/nonlinear materials, wide bandgap materials, and metallized plastics, which are required not only for the emerging microelectronics, data communication, and telecommunication technologies, but also for numerous other commercial product/technology applications. To foster growth and accomplishments in these areas, the DS&T Division promotes, sponsors, and cosponsors various symposia each year. The Division also presents the Thomas D. Callinan Award annually in recognition of individual accomplishments and contributions to dielectric science and technology.


Home | ECS Members | Education | Awards | Students | Sponsorship | Publications | Meetings

About | Contact | Privacy Policy | Site Map

© The Electrochemical Society, all rights reserved.



About ECS | Contact ECS